What is an SR22?
Naturally, there are penalties for driving without the proper liability coverage, such as license suspension, too many traffic violations, or driving under the influence (operating while intoxicated as it’s called in Wisconsin). The Wisconsin Department of Transportation, WisDOT, will require drivers with no insurance or driver’s license to file an SR22 with an insurance company for at least three years.
In the state of Wisconsin, the mandatory minimum liability insurance every driver must carry is:
- $25,000 for bodily injury per person
- $50,000 for bodily injury per accident
- $10,000 for property damage
When is an SR22 Required in Wisconsin?
Wisconsin typically requires an SR22 filing or proof of insurance when a driver needs to have their suspended license reinstated. A license can be suspended on account of:
- Operating while intoxicated (OWI)
- Driving without liability insurance
- High-risk driving history
- Multiple traffic violations
How Long Must You Carry an SR22 in Wisconsin?
An SR22 in Wisconsin must be carried and maintained for at least three years or risk further license suspension.
Wisconsin DUI Convictions
An OWI always results in license suspension. That, alone, is the primary reason why you would need an SR22 filed. Outside of getting the proper paperwork in order, there are further legal consequences for OWI offenders.