What is an SR22?
As one of the more populated states in the United States, so naturally, it has a lot of drivers on the road to account for. Each one of these drivers is required to carry the minimum liability auto insurance that Texas requires. Being able to cover damages and injuries is a legal necessity that many states employ. Failure to do so can result in license suspension. A driver’s license suspension won’t just compromise your driving privileges but also your insurance coverage.
However, high-risk and convicted drivers don’t need to worry about never being able to drive again, thanks to SR22 insurance. An SR22 is required from the insurance company and driver when a new auto insurance policy is taken out. The SR22 isn’t a policy itself but a certification that stays on file at the DMV to signify that a high-risk driver carries coverage in line with the state requirements.
In the state of Texas, the mandatory minimum liability insurance coverage is:
- $30,000 for bodily injury per person
- $60,000 for bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 for property damage
When is an SR22 Required in Texas?
Whenever a license suspension is involved, an SR22 will always be required to resolve it. That’s why it helps to be aware of such violations that can lead to suspension:
- Driving under the influence (DUI)
- Driving without liability insurance.
- Reckless driving
- Multiple traffic violations
How Long Must You Carry an SR22 in Texas?
Texas requires their drivers to carry SR22s for a minimum of two years as opposed to the national average of three.
Texas DUI Convictions
Drivers are held to a sober driving standard across the state of Texas. Nonetheless, insurance companies see drivers convicted of a DUI come in every day in search of SR22 certification. A DUI is, in fact, the most common reason for one. Drivers found with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) equal to or greater than 0.08 are charged with driving under the influence. Legal penalties include: