What is an SR22 in Nevada?
The Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) requires all registered drivers to carry a certain amount of liability auto insurance while behind the wheel at all times. This is so that if anyone causes anyone else injuries or property damage while driving, they’ll be on the line financially to cover the costs of said damage.
Driving without insurance is often punishable by driver’s license suspension. There is a considerable number of drivers that find themselves in this predicament: the solution is SR22 insurance in Nevada or proof of financial responsibility of auto insurance.
In the state of Nevada, the mandatory minimum liability insurance coverage is:
- $25,000 for bodily injury per person
- $50,000 for bodily injury per accident
- $20,000 for property damage
When is an SR22 Required in Nevada?
An SR22 in Nevada is always required in cases of driver’s license suspensions as they certify that a high-risk driver carries the necessary insurance. A driver can become high-risk with:
- Driving under the influence (DUI)
- Driving without insurance
- Multiple traffic violations
- Reckless driving history
How Long Must You Carry an SR22 in Nevada?
The Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) usually requires high-risk drivers to carry an SR22 for at least three years. Drivers will be expected to renew them on an annual basis.
Nevada DUI Convictions
Most of the drivers that carry an SR22 on file with the Nevada DMV have been convicted of a DUI. In fact, most of the drivers in the United States carry an SR22 because of a DUI violation. This is because a DUI will always result in a license suspension outside of the associated legal penalties. Nevada holds their driver to the legal blood alcohol (BAC) limit of 0.08. Commercial drivers are held at a BAC standard of 0.04, while drivers below the drinking age of 21 are held to a no-tolerance standard. Penalties typically include: