What is an SR22 in California?
An SR22 (may also be known as a California Insurance Proof Certificate) is required to be filed if your license has been suspended or restricted after one of the following violations:
- DUI conviction
- Three or more traffic violations
- Driving without insurance
- Reckless driving
- Having multiple traffic violations
- Other major traffic offenses
Filed through your insurance company and passed along to the California Department of Motor Vehicles, an SR22 is necessary if you wish to reinstate your driving privileges. An SR22 can be filed in one of three ways: through your motorcycle policy, car insurance policy, or non-owners policy. This form assures the state that you have the minimum required auto insurance coverage.
How Long Will You Need to Maintain An SR22?
An SR22 is required to be maintained for three years in the state of California. If your license is revoked or suspended for a period of time, the SR22 begins after that.
California Minimum Insurance Liability Requirements
As with many states, California has minimum liability insurance requirements. Those guidelines are as followed:
- $15,000 for injury to one person
- $30,000 for injury to more than one person
- $5,000 for property damage
DUI Convictions in California
On top of the suspended or revoked license and the SR22 insurance filing requirements, some hefty penalties can come your way if convicted of a DUI. Including what is outlined in the chart below, you must also pay a $125 registration fee and a $15 license reprinting fee.