ClickCease
Nearest Office:

Massachusetts Car Insurance Requirements

Massachusetts Minimum Car Insurance Requirements

As is the case with many states, Massachusetts requires all drivers to carry a minimum amount of auto insurance in order to drive legally. But where Massachusetts differs a bit is what kind of car insurance is mandated. The state of Massachusetts requires that all drivers carry liability insurance, uninsured motorist coverage, and personal injury protection (PIP). The state-mandated minimum amount of each are as follows:

Liability Insurance

  • $20,000 bodily injury per person
  • $40,000 bodily injury per accident
  • $5,000 property damage per accident

Uninsured Motorist Coverage

  • $20,000 bodily injury per person
  • $40,000 bodily injury per accident

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

  • $8,000 per person

Failure to provide proof of insurance in the state of Massachusetts can result in you facing some serious penalties. It is also worth noting that if you are leasing or financing a vehicle, your lender or leasing company may require you to carry additional car insurance.

No-Fault Insurance in Massachusetts

The state of Massachusetts followed a no-fault insurance law system. What this means is that drivers are required to carry their own protection. After an accident, regardless of who was at fault for it, you could file claims through your own insurance policy. Generally, this policy only applies to medical expenses, hence the addition of PIP coverage. There can be some exceptions, though, depending on the severity of your injuries. Any other damage, such as those to your vehicle, would be covered by property damage liability protection.

Massachusetts Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

As previously mentioned, being a no-fault insurance state, Massachusetts requires drivers to carry personal injury protection (PIP). PIP coverage will pay for medical bills you and your passenger(s) accumulate following an accident. This can apply to hospital stays, rehab, and lost wages if your injuries prevent you from working.

Massachusetts Uninsured Motorist Coverage

Despite it being mandated, many drivers choose not to carry car insurance. For this reason, the state of Massachusetts mandates that all drivers carry uninsured motorist coverage. If you end up in an accident with someone who lacks insurance, your uninsured motorist policy can assist you to pay for what the other person’s insurance cannot should it come to that.

Massachusetts Liability Insurance

The state of Massachusetts, as if found with many other states, requires you to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance in order to be considered a legal driver. Liability coverage pays for damages in an accident you are found at fault for. It is divided into two categories: bodily injury and property damage coverage. Property damage goes towards fixing vehicles, while bodily injury can apply to medical expenses. Coverage limits and further descriptions of each are outlined in the next section.

Car Insurance Limits in Massachusetts

The minimum amount of required car insurance is referred to as the limit. This is the lowest amount of insurance coverage you can carry in order to be considered a legal driver. On the flip side, a limit is also the maximum amount your insurance company will pay out in a claim. In the state of Massachusetts, liability coverage limits are expressed as 20/40/5. What each of these numbers represented and the aspects of an accident they cover are explored below.

  • Bodily injury per person is the maximum amount your insurance will cover for a single person’s injuries in an accident you caused.
  • Bodily injury per accident is how much your insurer will pay for all injuries you cause in an accident.
  • Property damage per accident refers to the amount your insurance company will pay for damage you cause in an accident.

CARCO Inspection in Massachusetts

Massachusetts is one of the few states that require a CARCO inspection. A CARCO inspection verifies the existence of your car and notes aspects about it like mileage and physical condition. Photos of your vehicle are also noted and transferred to your insurance company. The state of Massachusetts requires such inspection in order for you to carry certain insurances like collision and comprehensive coverage. This is done free of charge.

Is Massachusetts’s Mandatory Insurance Minimums Enough Coverage?

While Massachusetts requires more car insurance than other states, it still could do better. For example, the required minimum amount of property damage liability is $5,000. If you total a driver’s car in an accident, that will barely even begin to cover a brand new vehicle, and anything that is not covered lands back in your lap to pay. For these reasons, it is highly recommended that you increase coverage limits and include any policy add-ons that first your circumstances. This is the best way for you to assure yourself and your finances are protected adequately.

Driving Without Proof of Insurance in Massachusetts

Failure to provide proof of insurance in the state of Massachusetts can lead to you facing some pretty serious penalties. The chart below outlines the consequences of driving without car insurance in Massachusetts.

Consequences
1st Offense
2nd Offense
Fines
$500
$500-$5,000
License Suspension
60 days
1 year
Jail Time
Up to 1 year
Up to 1 year

On top of all these, you will also be asked to pay a reinstatement fee to reactivate your driver's license. For these reasons, among many others, it is recommended you carry an adequate amount of insurance. Choosing not to do so can land you in some pretty sticky situations.

Additional Types of Car Insurance in Massachusetts

While the state of Massachusetts requires drivers to carry a few different types of insurance, there are still many ways to expand your policy. Listed below are some common policy add-ons used to strengthen your insurance coverage.

  • Collision: This coverage pays for damages caused to your car in an accident. It pays out no matter who was at fault.
  • Comprehensive: Comprehensive coverage protects your vehicle against non-collision-related damages. This can include incidents like theft or extreme weather.
  • Roadside Assistance: If your car breaks down on the highway, roadside assistance can offer a helping hand to get you back on the road. While the full extent of coverage varies from company to company, in general, it will cover mechanical issues like a dead car battery.
  • Rental Car Reimbursement: If your car is unable to be driven for a while, this insurance covers the cost of renting you a new vehicle until yours is all fixed up. Gap Coverage: If your car is totaled before you can pay off your auto loan, gap coverage will pay the difference between your vehicle's actual cash value and what you have left on the loan.

Car Insurance is Important For Any Massachusetts Driver

Carrying car insurance not only keeps you on the right side of the law but also helps to keep you and your assets protected. Remember, anything that is not covered by your insurance policy will most likely fall back into your lap, putting your finances in a potentially difficult position. Buying insurance can be a tedious thing, but if you take the time to increase coverage limits and utilize policy add-ons, you are going to put yourself in a good position. While you cannot predict accidents, you can try to prepare for them, and car insurance is the best way to go about that.

*This product may not be available in every state, please call an agent for more information.

Call Us Today! 888-949-NAVY