What is an SR22?
The Wyoming Department of Transport, like most state departments of motor vehicles, requires that an SR22 be filed with them by your insurance provider to certify that you hold a policy with the required liability coverage in the event of lost driving privileges. The most common reason for needing an SR22 is driving without insurance or received a DUI. An SR22 isn’t an insurance policy itself, just a file that stays on your record for at least three years.
In the state of Wyoming, drivers are required to carry at least the following liability coverage:
- $25,000 for bodily injury per person
- $50,000 for bodily injury per accident
- $20,000 for property damage
When is an SR22 Required in Wyoming
An SR22 filing will normally be required when drivi9ng privileges are revoked or you’ve been labeled as a high-risk driver to insure. This can happen when:
- Driving under the influence (DUI)
- Driving without insurance
- Multiple traffic violations
- Several minor infractions
How Long Must You Carry an SR22 in Wyoming
SR22s must be carried and maintained in Wyoming for at least three years, driving without one can result in license suspension.
Wyoming DUI Convictions
The loss of driver’s privileges is just part one of being issued a DUI in Wyoming. Courts order that those charged with one undergo a substance abuse assessment. In addition, there are several penalties for each individual DUI conviction.