What is an SR22?
Much like Virginia, West Virginia also requires their drivers to carry a certain amount of auto insurance if they are registered to drive. It’s part of the legal practice of covering the damages you cause in an auto accident.
Driving with insurance isn’t just a legal responsibility but a sure-fire way to be financially protected in an auto accident. Of course, drivers can be penalized for driving without it -sometimes even having their license suspended or their driving privileges revoked. It is at that point when a West Virginia driver will be told to get SR22 insurance. West Basically, any case wherein a driver’s license is suspended is a case where SR22 insurance is needed.
In the state of West Virginia, the mandatory minimum liability insurance coverage is:
- $20,000 for bodily injury per person
- $40,000 for bodily injury per accident
- $10,000 for property damage
When is an SR22 Required in West Virginia?
Basically, any case wherein a driver’s license is suspended is a case where SR22 insurance is needed. This can be due to:
- Driving under the influence (DUI)
- Driving without required liability insurance
- Multiple traffic violations in a short span
How Long Must You Carry an SR22 in West Virginia
An SR22 filing in West Virginia is typically required to be carried for at least three years. Failure to do so can result in further loss of driving privileges.
West Virginia DUI Convictions
Like several other states, West Virginia is no exception when it comes to legislation against impaired driving. The state lists its limit for all drivers at a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) at 0.08. For commercial drivers, the BAC limit is lowered to 0.04. When it comes to drivers under the drinking age, a no-tolerance policy is in place. Legal penalties based on conviction include: