What is an SR22?
When it comes to SR22s, many states handle them through their Department of Motor Vehicle (DMV). Washington is an exception wherein it’s the Washington State Department of Licensing that keeps tabs on if every driver has the minimum required liability coverage after a license suspension.
Despite the difference, a Washington SR22 does exactly what its other state counterparts do -provide proof of insurance and financial responsibility of a policy with at least the minimum required liability coverage.
In the state of Washington, the mandatory minimum liability insurance coverage is:
- $25,000 for bodily injury per person
- $50,000 for bodily injury per accident
- $10,000 for property damage
When is an SR22 Required in Washington?
An SR22 filing would be required in Washington due to any case of license suspension in order to have it reinstated. Violations that can lead to this are:
- Driving under the influence (DUI)
- Driving without liability insurance
- Multiple minor violations in a short span like tickets
- Several major traffic violations
How Long Must You Carry an SR22 in Washington?
SR22s must stay on driver’s files for up to three years; during this time, it’s imperative that you maintain your coverage and practice safe driving or risk further suspension.
Washington DUI Convictions
The way the state of Washington handles and penalizes DUIs is similar to how most states do across the board. And as with most states, the legal blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit for adults is 0.08. Legal penalties based on offense include: