Nearest Office:

Virginia SR22 Insurance

What is an SR22?

SR22 insurance, or rather certification, is a form that legally states that the driver carries at least the minimum required insurance after a series of traffic violations or license suspension. Virginia also utilizes FR44 insurance, which not too many states do. FR44 is a type of SR22 insurance that is especially used in the event of driving under the influence conviction (DUI). A DUI will always result in a suspended license, so an FR44 and a liability policy will always be the first step to getting back on the road legally after all the legal consequences are resolved.

In the state of Virginia, the mandatory minimum liability insurance coverage is:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury per person
  • $50,000 for bodily injury per accident
  • $20,000 for property damage

When is an SR22 Required in Virginia?

Virginia is one of several states that use SR22 insurance for suspended or high-risk drivers. A license can be suspended because of:

  • Driving under the influence (DUI)
  • Driving without liability insurance
  • Multiple traffic violations
  • Reckless driving

How Long Must You Maintain an SR22 in Virginia?

SR22s in Virginia must be maintained for at least three years with their annual renewal. Failure to maintain certification can result in further suspension.

Virginia DUI Convictions

Virginia operates with both driving under the influence (DUI) charges and driving while intoxicated (DWI) charges. A driver can be charged with a DUI if any trace of alcohol is found in their system. This could be the case even if the driver’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is less than the legal limit average of 0.08. Legal penalties for each offense includes:

1st Offense
2nd Offense
3rd Offense
Jail Time
Up to 1 year
10 days to a year
90 days to five years
$250 to $2,500
$500 to $2,500
$1,000 to $2,500
License Suspension
One year
Three years

Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID) Requirements For Virginia

An ignition interlock device may be required to be installed as a result of a DUI conviction in Virginia. Usually, it stays on the vehicle for up to 12 months while the drivers’ license is suspended. The device measures the BAC level to ensure that the driver is below the legal limit. The driving privileges which come with one are limited to running essential errands while they serve their suspension period.

Call Us Today! 888-949-NAVY