What is an SR22?
It’s important to maintain your insurance policy by paying your rates and practicing safe driving. Violations like driving with no insurance and driving under the influence can lead to license suspension and loss of driving privileges.
The Vermont DMV will require that you buy an SR22 certificate from an insurance company and have it filed with them. An SR22 certification that you have and pay for state-required insurance is essential for legally getting back on the road after a major violation or a series of such.
In the state of Vermont, the mandatory minimum liability insurance coverage is:
- $25,000 for bodily injury per person
- $50,000 for bodily injury per accident
- $10.000 for property damage
How Long Must You Carry an SR22 in Vermont?
Vermont requires drivers with SR22s to maintain them for at least three years. It’s important to get it renewed on an annual basis or license suspension can be extended.
Vermont DUI Convictions
Driving under the influence is an issue in Vermont as it is in several other states, so Vermont has conducted its own efforts to lessen the number of impaired drivers. These include checkpoints, ignition interlock devices, attitude surveys, and even becoming involved in the Drug Recognition Expert training.
Vermont also looks at actual physical control of the vehicle at the time of a DUI-related accident and per se DUIs based on driver alcohol intake. Penalties the state enforces are: