Nearest Office:

Utah SR22 Insurance

What is an SR22?

SR22s are necessary and required in order to reinstate a suspended license after its revocation period is over. Exactly how long the suspension lasts is dependent on the severity of the offense or whether or not it’s the first. When the suspension is over, the Utah DMV won’t just hand it back to you. You’ll have to provide proof that you have at least the minimum required liability insurance. That is precisely where the SR22 comes in.

In the state of Utah, the mandatory minimum liability insurance is:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury per person
  • $65,000 for bodily injury per accident
  • $15,000 for property damage

When is an SR22 Required in Utah?

If you’ve been asked to file an SR22 in Utah, then your driver’s license has been suspended. An SR22 certificate is the key to getting back on the road again and certifies that you carry the correct amount of liability coverage to do so. An SR22 can be required due to:

  • Driving under the influence (DUI)
  • Driving without insurance
  • Reckless driving
  • Multiple traffic violations

How Long Must You Carry an SR22 in Utah?

Utah requires their drivers with SR22s to carry them on file for a minimum of three years before waiving it. It’s important to renew it during those years.

Utah DUI Convictions

You may have been warned about drinking and driving and how you should never drive when your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is above 0.08. However, Utah is a unique case. In 2018, the state lowered the limit to 0.05. Utah is also known to have longer license suspension periods, often stretching over 100 days. More consequences include:

Consequences
1st Offense
2nd Offense
3rd Offense
Jail Time
Two days to six months
Five days to six months
Five days to five years
Fines
$700 to $1,000
$800 to $1,000
$800 to $5,000
License Suspension
120 days
2 years
2 years

Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID) Requirements For Utah

In addition to the jail time, fines, and driver's license suspension, there are other penalties or measures you may face for a DUI in Utah. Any DUI offender may apply for a restricted license until your suspension is up with an ignition interlock device installed on their car. With a restricted license, you should only be operating a car with an interlock device installed on it. Operating a vehicle without one can revoke your driving privileges further. DUI penalties themselves vary based on the offense. A third-time offender would have more severe consequences than a first-time offender would.

Call Us Today! 888-949-NAVY