What is an SR22?
The state of Tennessee has an accurate description for SR22 insurance. The Department of Safety handles all filing for “proof of future financial responsibility.” Or, in other words -SR22 auto insurance.
The word “future” refers to the time period wherein an SR22 would be required to be carried, which is usually anywhere from three to five years. Three to five years since when? The answer is since a serious insurance or traffic violation like driving without the auto liability Tennessee requires or driving under the influence and being convicted of a DUI. The latter is the most common reason why a driver like you would need an SR22 from an insurance provider.
In the state of Tennessee, the mandatory minimum liability insurance coverage is:
- $25,000 for bodily injury per person
- $50,000 for bodily injury per accident
- $15,000 for property damage
When is an SR22 Required in Tennessee?
As stated previously, SR22s are required in Tennessee in cases of:
- Driving under the influence (DUI)
- Driving with no insurance
- Reckless driving
- Multiple traffic violations in a short span of time
How Long Must You Carry an SR22 in Tennessee?
Tennessee drivers carrying an SR22 are required to do so for three to five years. Be sure to renew it annually, as not doing so can reset license suspension.
Tennessee DUI Convictions
A DUI, even the first offense, always results in license suspension in addition to the other legal consequences. So, drinking while driving remains the most common reason for an SR22 purchase and filing. Tennessee sets its blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit at the national average of 0.08 or higher. DUI penalties in Tennessee are known to be more severe if an intoxicated driver tests for a BAC greater than or equal to 0.20. Here is what convictions often result in: