What is an SR22?
For nearly every state, SR22s exist not to provide coverage to high-risk or convicted drivers but to certify that high-risk or convicted drivers carry the minimum required insurance along with a valid license because one without the other would not be possible. SR22s are maintained for at least three years along with the insurance policy. Additional failure to provide proof of insurance can result in the vehicle’s plates being suspended.
In the state of South Dakota, the mandatory minimum liability insurance coverage is:
- $25,000 for bodily injury per person
- $50,000 for bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 for property damage
When is an SR22 Required in South Dakota?
A suspended license is often the cause for an SR22. In addition, to recover from the legal consequences, there’s a recovery process to get back on the road legally with a reinstated license and necessary auto insurance. At that point, it’s time to get an SR22 from an insurance provider and have it filed with the Department of Public Safety. Violations that can result in such are:
- Driving under the influence (DUI)
- Driving without insurance
- Vehicular homicide
- Multiple traffic offenses in a considerable span
How Long Must You Carry an SR22 in South Dakota?
Drivers typically carry an SR22 for at least three years, with renewal each one.
South Dakota DUI Convictions
A DUI is often the reason why a driver would need an SR22. Though, South Dakota is attempting to crack down on it. In addition to the legal blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit being 0.08 and above, the state can also charge an intoxicated person also present in the vehicle with a DUI. Penalties for such convictions include: