Right off the bat, we can tell you that Pennsylvania is one of the six states in which SR22 insurance isn’t required. However, there is still minimum liability insurance coverage that drivers must carry. Failure to do so can result in license suspension or even vehicle impoundment.
With no SR22 insurance or certification necessary, drivers who had their licenses suspended will only have to resolve their legal penalties like fines and suspension period before purchasing high-risk driver insurance with increased premiums while major offenses stay on their record for the foreseeable future.
In the state of Pennsylvania, the mandatory minimum liability insurance coverage is:
- $15,000 for bodily injury per person
- $30,000 for bodily injury per accident
- $5,000 for property damage
Pennsylvania DUI Convictions
Pennsylvania enforces the legal limit blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08. The state uses three different levels of BAC or intoxication to base the penalties on which increase based on how high the level in question is. Jail time, fines, and license suspensions can even be charged to first-time offenders. The state also reserves the right to have an ignition interlock device installed on an offender’s vehicle if need be. DUI penalties include: