Nearest Office:

Oklahoma SR22 Insurance

What is an SR22?

First and foremost, Oklahoma is one of six states where SR22 insurance isn’t required to be filed to the state Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) after a license suspension or lack of required auto insurance. Most states have a required liability auto insurance that all drivers are meant to carry in the event they cause an accident and must pay for injuries and damage.

Driving without liability insurance can result in the suspension of your driving license and driving privileges. A license can be suspended, or an insurance policy can be canceled in the event of several traffic violations, a history of reckless driving, and driving under the influence, most common of all.

In the state of Oklahoma, the mandatory minimum liability insurance coverage is:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury per person
  • $50,000 for bodily injury per accident
  • $25,000 for property damage

Oklahoma DUI Convictions

Oklahoma also has its fair share of impaired driving laws. A DUI is the most common cause for SR22 insurance, which is why drivers in states that require it call it “DUI insurance.” For DUIs in Oklahoma, a license suspension will always be a consequence, even for first-time offenders.

Since Oklahoma drivers don’t have to file an SR22 or apply for a restricted license, all they can do is wait for their license suspension to be over before their driving privileges can be reinstated if they were suspended. At the same time, convicted drivers are able to find high-risk car insurance policies for drivers like them with marks on their driving history. Oklahoma naturally enforces the legal blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit of 0.08 like most states do. Penalties for a DUI in Oklahoma include:

1st Offense
2nd Offense
3rd Offense
Jail Time
10 days to a year
One to Five years
One to Seven years
$500 to $1,000
$500 to $2,500
At least $5,000
License Suspension
One to Three months
Six months to One year
One to Three years

Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID) Requirements For Oklahoma

Oklahoma drivers may be required to have an ignition interlock device installed after a DUI in order to have driving privileges reinstated. A certificate of installation is then submitted to the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety in order to receive a restricted license. No other vehicle may be operated by the convicted driver for that time.

Call Us Today! 888-949-NAVY