The first thing is first, New York is one of six states where SR22 insurance or certification is not required for high-risk drivers with a suspended license. However, those moving to New York from a state where they do hold an SR22 must carry it over until its three years are up. At the same time, the state of New York does, in fact, have its own insurance coverage limits all its drivers must carry.
Proof of insurance coverage in New York is certified through the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), with the driver carrying an insurance ID card given to them by their insurance provider. There also exist electronic versions of these insurance cards, so the driver has access to them at all times. A license suspension can happen on account of numerous traffic violations, one significant one, or driving without insurance, as previously mentioned. One such traffic violation which always results in license revocation is driving under the influence (DUI).
In the state of New York, the mandatory minimum liability insurance coverage is:
- $25,000 for bodily injury per person
- $50,000 for bodily injury per accident
- $10,000 in property damage
New York DUI Convictions
New York has the most complex and detailed laws involving DUIs. It organizes impaired driving into five different groups. A DWI (driving while intoxicated) refers to the operation of a vehicle with a BAC of 0.08 or more, an Alcohol-DWAI is when a driver’s ability to drive is impaired by alcohol even the smallest amount, a Drug-DWAI is the same as an Alcohol-DWAI except intoxication is due to another controlled substance, a Combination-DWAI is both of them put together, and an Aggravated DWI is when the driver tests with a BAC of 0.18 or higher. Any of these can result in: