As for SR22 insurance in New Mexico, there is none. New Mexico is one of six states wherein SR22 insurance isn’t required in the event a driver has their license suspended. In any state, a driver’s license can be suspended due to driving without the required liability insurance. The state requires multiple traffic violations or driving under the influence. Since an SR22 isn’t required to provide proof of insurance, the only proof of insurance a driver will have is the policy itself and the premiums they pay. It falls on them to maintain it by making payments and practicing safe driving.
In the state of New Mexico, the mandatory minimum liability insurance coverage is:
- $25,000 for bodily injury per person
- $50,000 for bodily injury per accident
- $10,000 for property damage.
New Mexico DUI Convictions
A DUI conviction is the most common reason to provide proof of auto insurance or file an SR22. This is mainly because a DUI conviction can compromise any driver’s license with a suspension or insurance policy with a cancelation. However, New Mexico doesn’t label intoxicated driving as a DUI but rather driving while intoxicated (DWI). The state alcohol blood concentration (BAC) limit in New Mexico is 0.08, as is common in several other states. However, second-time offenders can’t test for a hint of alcohol in their system. Other penalties for a DWI in New Mexico include: