What is an SR22?
The state of New Jersey doesn’t have a Department of Motor Vehicle or a DMV. Rather they operate the Motor Vehicle Commission (New Jersey MVC) to keep files on all its registered drivers and the auto insurance they carry. This is especially important because New Jersey has auto insurance requirements for every driver within its state lines.
This isn’t unique; nearly every state has minimum insurance requirements for its drivers. In response to this, the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) requires that such drivers carry SR22 insurance or certification after a license suspension or loss of driving privileges.
In the state of New Jersey, the mandatory minimum liability insurance coverage is:
- $15,000 for bodily injury per person
- $30,000 for bodily injury per accident
- $5,000 for property damage
When is an SR22 Required in New Jersey?
The most common reason for an SR22 is a suspended license. A driver’s license can be revoked for reasons such as:
- Driving under the influence (DUI)
- Reckless driving
- Driving without insurance
- Multiple traffic violations
How Long Must You Maintain an SR22 in New Jersey?
The New Jersey MVC requires drivers with SR22s to carry and maintain them for at least three years. Failure to keep them updated can result in further suspension.
New Jersey DUI Convictions
Driving under the influence (DUI) conviction is the most common reason for an SR22 because the offender will always face a period of license revocation. New Jersey may also address the offense as a DWI or driving while intoxicated depending on the level of intoxication or blood alcohol concentration (BAC). Penalties include: