What is an SR22?
The Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) keeps tabs on all its registered drivers. A significant portion of the job is making sure each driver has a certain amount of liability auto coverage or at least more than the legal limit the state requires. Being able to pay for any damage or injury you cause to another driver is a regular legal practice in most of the United States.
Driving or operating a vehicle without the required auto insurance can result in license suspension or loss of driving privileges altogether. It’s a common situation that many drivers find themselves in. The answer comes in the form of SR22 car insurance or proof of financial responsibility for a valid auto insurance policy.
In the state of Nebraska, the mandatory minimum liability insurance coverage is:
- $25,000 for bodily injury per person
- $50,000 for bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 for property damage
When is an SR22 Required in Nebraska?
The Nebraska DMV keeps tabs on cases of suspended licenses, which they will send a request to have an SR22 filed. A license can be suspended due to:
- Driving under the influence (DUI)
- Reckless driving
- Multiple traffic violations in a short span
- Driving without insurance
How Long Must You Carry an SR22 in Nebraska?
The DMV will require drivers to carry their SR22s for at least three years with a renewal every year.
Nebraska DUI Convictions
While many states look for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) equal to or greater than 0.08, Nebraska draws a significant legal line at the amount of 0.15. It penalizes drivers based on whether their BAC is higher or lower than that amount. Penalties include: