SR22 Requirement in Mississippi
The state of Mississippi enacted a bill that requires drivers who have their licenses suspended after a drinking and driving conviction to file an SR22. An SR22 is a form you file with your auto insurance company that proves to the state of Mississippi you carry the proper minimum insurance liability coverage as a driver. As previously mentioned, this can be required after being convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) but it may also be mandated for other serious traffic violations.
Mandatory Minimum Liability Insurance Coverage in Mississippi
According to Mississippi law, drivers are required to carry minimum liability coverage of:
- $25,000 for bodily injury per person
- $50,000 for bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 for property damage
How Long do You Need to Carry an SR22 For in Mississippi?
Typically, the state of Mississippi will require you to maintain an SR22 with your auto insurance company for three years.
Mississippi Driving Under The Influence (DUI) Penalties
In the state of Mississippi, you can be convicted of a DUI if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is 0.08 and above. As mentioned above, a DUI is one of the convictions that will lead to the filing of an SR22 with your insurance company. But this offense comes with a whole slew of other penalties. The chart below outlines DUI conviction consequences for the state of Mississippi.