Minnesota is a state that does not require drivers to file an SR22 with their auto insurance should any major traffic violations happen.
In other parts of the country, an SR22 is a form filed with your auto insurance company that proves to the state that, as a driver, you possess the mandatory minimum liability insurance coverage. These are typically required after a serious traffic offense like driving while impaired (DWI) or driving without insurance.
In general, an insurance certification form does need to be filled out with the Department of Public Safety to reinstate driving privileges if your license is suspended. There are also still many other penalties on the books should you be caught driving intoxicated or driving without the mandatory minimum insurance.
Mandatory Minimum Liability Insurance Coverage in Minnesota
As stated above, Minnesota has a mandatory minimum for insurance you must carry if you end up in an accident. Those requirements are as outlined:
- $30,000 for bodily injury to one person
- $60,000 for bodily injury to two or more persons
- $10,000 for property damage
Failure to carry such minimum coverage may result in your driving privileges being revoked or suspended.
Minnesota Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) Penalties
Being convicted of driving while intoxicated (DWI) is sometimes one of the most common reasons for a state to require an SR22 filing on top of the rest of their penalties. While an SR22 is not part of Minnesota’s insurance laws, there are still a lot of consequences you could face if convicted of a DWI. If it is your first offense, you could be facing 90 days in jail and a $1,000 fine. For a second offense, jail time goes up to 1 year and the fine is increased to $3,000. However, these penalties may change based on the circumstances of your case. You can also be facing suspension of your driving privileges.
Ignition Interlock Device (IID) Requirements For Minnesota
Depending on your case, you could be required to install an ignition interlock device (IID) on your vehicle. An IID is a breath analyzer that prevents your car from starting if alcohol is detected on your breath. For a first and second offense, an IID can be required for one to two years. After a third and subsequent offense in a 10-year period, an IID can be required for three to six years. Circumstances of requirement are dependent on each case.