What is an SR22?
An SR22 is a form filed with your auto insurance company that proves to the state you carry the minimum liability insurance coverage mandated for all drivers. These typically are required upon being convicted of a major traffic violation. Some of those violations include:
- Driving while under the influence (DUI)
- Reckless driving
- Driving without insurance
- Multiple minor violations (ex. speeding ticket)
Does Massachusetts Require SR22 Filing?
Depends. The state of Massachusetts does not require you to file an SR22 with your insurance company if your violation occurred in the state and you are carrying a Massachusetts driver’s license.
If the violation happens out of state, you will be required to file an SR22 with your auto insurance company and will have to maintain it for three years.
Massachusetts Mandatory Minimum Liability Insurance
Even if you are not required to file an SR22, you still must carry the mandatory minimum liability insurance in Massachusetts:
- $20,000 for bodily injury per person
- $40,000 for bodily injury per accident
- $5,000 for property damage
Failure to upkeep these minimums can result in various harsh penalties, including fines, jail time, and license suspension.
DUI Penalties in Massachusetts
DUI convictions can sometimes be one of the most common reasons for an SR22 filing. Even if you do not have to worry about filing an SR22 in Massachusetts, you still can be facing a number of penalties even after just your first conviction. The table below outlines such penalties.