If the state of Maryland has an SR22 requirement is a bit uncertain. An SR22 is a form you file with your insurance company in order to prove you carry the mandatory minimum liability insurance coverage for that state. With the state of Maryland, they seem to require this kind of proof but the circumstances around it differ from those of other certificates of insurance.
Maryland FR19 Forms
Maryland’s way of proving drivers have insurance is through an FR19 form. An FR19 is similar to a traditional SR22. When requested, you should file the form with your auto insurance to then prove to Maryland that you have the mandatory liability coverage. You may be asked to file an FR19 for various reasons:
- Canceled car insurance policy
- Three points on your driving record
- Registered newly titled car in Maryland
- Randomly selected
Mandatory Minimum Insurance Requirements For Maryland
Maryland law mandates all drivers carry a minimum liability insurance coverage. Those required coverages are outlined below:
- $30,000 for bodily injury per person
- $60,000 for bodily injury to two or more persons
- $15,000 for property damage
Maryland Impaired Driving Laws
In other states, a very common reason for an SR22 filing is after a DWI or DUI conviction. While that is not explicitly laid out by the state of Maryland as a reason for proof of insurance, the act does not go unpunished both legally and with your insurance company. Not only will you be considered a high-risk driver in the event of a DUI or DWI conviction, but harsher penalties can also await you.
Regarding a DUI, after a first offense, you can be hit with a fine of $1,000 and a jail time of one year. Your license can also be revoked for up to six months. For a second offense, you could have to pay a $2,000 fine and spend up to two years in jail. Your driver’s license can then be revoked for up to a year.
In terms of a DWI conviction, after a first offense, the state of Maryland requires a $500 fine and you could be in jail for up to two months. A six-month license suspension also followers. Following a second DWI offense, the fine amount stays the same but jail time goes up to potentially one year. License suspension also increases to nine to 12 months.
Penalties continue to increase should you have a third and beyond conviction.
Ignition Interlock Device (IID) Program in Maryland
If convicted of a DUI or DWI (while transporting a minor under 16 years of age), you will be required to participate in Maryland’s Ignition Interlock Program. The program allows you to drive but with an ignition interlock device (IID) installed in your vehicle. An IID is a breath analysis device that prevents your car from starting if it detects alcohol on your breath. The program run-time can fluctuate based on your case and driving record but it usually can last around 180 days.