What is an SR22?
After the suspension of your license, the state of Maine can require you to file proof of insurance, an SR22, with your auto insurance company. The purpose of this filing is to prove to the state that you, as a driver, carry the mandatory minimum liability insurance coverage.
Who Needs an SR22 in The State of Maine?
An SR22 filing comes up in the event that your license is suspended after a major traffic violation. Some of those violations include:
- Operating under the influence (OUI)
- Uninsured accident
- Driving under a suspended license
- Multiple minor traffic offenses (ex. speeding tickets)
Maine Minimum Liability Insurance Coverage
As mentioned above, an SR22 shows proof that you carry the proper liability insurance. For the state of Maine, the mandatory minimums are as followed:
- $50,000 for bodily injury per person
- $100,000 for bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 for property damage
A Combined Single Limit of $125,000 will also be considered a fulfillment of the minimum limit requirement, according to Maine’s Professional & Financial Regulation department. State law also requires drivers to carry a minimum of $2,000 per person for medical payment coverage.
How Long is an SR22 Filing Required For in Maine?
If required to file an SR22 with your auto insurance company, you will need to maintain it for three years.
Maine Operating Under The Influence (OUI) Penalties
In the state of Maine, you can be charged with an OUI if you are driving or operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of over 0.08. In the event of an arrest, the Secretary of State can suspend your license immediately solely based on the police report and BAC test. As outlined previously, this suspension is what leads to an SR22 requirement but there is a variety of penalties that can follow thereafter. The table below outlines what you will be facing if convicted of an OUI in Maine.