ClickCease
Nearest Office:

Louisiana SR22 Insurance

What is an SR22?

In some traffic violation cases, the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles may require you to maintain an SR22. An SR22 is a form filed through your auto insurance company that is then shared with the state to prove you carry the mandatory minimum liability insurance required by all drivers.

Who Needs an SR22 in Louisiana?

An SR22 is typically required in the case of a serious traffic violation. Some of those offenses may include:

  • Driving while intoxicated (DWI)
  • Driving without insurance
  • Reckless driving
  • Driving on a suspended license
  • Other legal judgments

How Long do You Need to Maintain an SR22 in Louisiana?

Maintain an SR22 is typically required in Louisiana for three years but this can shift depending on your case. Failure to maintain an SR22 for the assigned time can result in your driving privileges being suspended.

Louisiana Mandatory Minimum Liability Insurance Coverage

As previously mentioned, the purpose of an SR22 filing is to prove you, as a drive, carry the mandatory minimum liability insurance coverage. In the state of Louisiana, the mandatory minimums are:

  • $15,000 for bodily injury to one person
  • $30,000 for bodily injury per accident
  • $25,000 for property damage

Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) Convictions in Louisiana

A DWI conviction is arguably one of the most common reasons to have to file an SR22 form as it leads to license suspension and that proof of insurance. But there are a variety of other consequences that can be headed your way after a DWI conviction. The chart below outlines such penalties.

Consequences
1st Offense
2nd Offense
3rd Offense
Jail Time
10 days-6 months
30 days-6 months
1-5 years
Fines
$300-$1,000
$750-$1,000
$2,000 (plus court costs)
Community Service
48 hours
240 hours
240 hours
Call Us Today! 888-949-NAVY