Does Kentucky Require an SR22?
No, the state of Kentucky does not require you to file an SR22 form with your auto insurance company. Despite this, if you are convicted of a major traffic violation like driving while under the influence (DUI), you can still expect to be hit with a variety of penalties and an increase in insurance rates. Kentucky does still also mandate drivers to carry the minimum insurance liability coverage.
Kentucky Mandatory Minimum Liability
As previously mentioned, even without an SR-22 insurance filing requirement, the state of Kentucky requires that drivers still have the mandatory minimum liability coverage:
- $25,000 for bodily injury for one person
- $50,000 for bodily injust for accident
- $25,000 for property damage
Failure to carry this level of insurance does not go unpunished, either. If caught driving without it, you could face hundreds to thousands of dollars in fines, jail time, and suspension of driving privileges.
If required to file an SR22 in another state, you still have to maintain it and failure to do so may result in the suspension of your Kentucky driver’s license.
DUI Convictions in Kentucky
Subsequently, DUIs also have a variety of penalties. You may not have to worry about filing an SR22 with your insurance company should you be convicted of one, but you can have a whole heap of other issues headed your way. The chart below outlines the DUI penalties for the state of Kentucky.