What is an SR22?
If you have had your license revoked or suspended, you may be required to file an SR22. An SR22 is a form filed through your auto insurance company that shows the state of Kansas that you carry the mandatory minimum auto insurance. Kansas requires you to maintain an SR22 for one year. Failure to maintain could result in you having your driving privileges revoked again.
Who Needs an SR22?
An SR22 filing may be required by Kansas if you are convicted of a major traffic violation. Those violations include:
- Driving without insurance
- Driving while under the influence (DUI)
- Repeated minor traffic violations
- Reckless driving
Kansas Mandatory Minimum Insurance Liability Coverage
While an SR22 is not a type of insurance, it does prove that you carry the mandatory minimum auto insurance liability coverage. In the state of Kansas, those minimums are:
- $25,000 for bodily injury per person
- $50,000 for bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 for property damage
DUI Conviction in Kansas
Potentially one of the most common reasons for SR22 filing is a DUI conviction. This sort of traffic violation comes with a variety of other penalties on top of the SR22 form requirement. The chart below outlines what you could be facing if convicted of a DUI in the state of Kansas.