An SR22 is a form you file with your insurance company that proves to the state you carry the minimum liability insurance coverage mandated for all drivers. Hawaii may require an SR22 after a major traffic violation conviction. The form is also known in the state as an SR21. Despite the name differences, they are both filed the same way and relate to you, as a driver, providing proof of insurance when requested.
When is an SR22 Required in Hawaii?
As previously mentioned, an SR-22 form must be filed with your insurance company upon receiving a major traffic violation conviction. Some of those violations include:
- Driving while under the influence (DUI)
- Reckless driving
- Driving without insurance
- Multiple violations (ex. speeding tickets)
How Long do You Need to Maintain an SR22 in Hawaii?
For the state of Hawaii, an SR22 must be maintained with your auto insurance company for about three years but SR22 requirements can sometimes vary.
Hawaii Mandatory Minimum Liability Insurance Coverage
An SR22 filing proves to the state that you carry the mandatory minimum liability insurance. Outlined below is what the state of Hawaii requires for all drivers:
- $20,000 for bodily injury per person
- $40,000 for bodily injury per accident
- $10,000 for property damage
DUI Penalties in Hawaii
Driving while under the influence is arguably one of the most common reasons for an SR22 filing requirement. But this may not be the only thing you face in the event of a conviction. Hawaii sets some pretty harsh penalties after a first offense. The chart below outlines what you could be facing after a first-time DUI conviction and those thereafter.