Does Georgia Require an SR22 Filing?
The state of Georgia has two different forms to file depending on the circumstances of your case. These are known as SR22 and SR22A.
In Georgia, an SR22 may be required if you have low-level traffic violations such as driving without insurance. An SR22A, also known as the Georgia Safety Responsibility Insurance Certificate, is reserved for more serious offenses, like driving under the influence (DUI) or driving with a suspended/revoked license. The purpose of these forms is to assure the Georgia government that you carry the required minimum liability coverage:
- $25,000 for bodily injury per person
- $50,000 for bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 for property damage
How Long Is An SR22A Required In Georgia?
An SR22A must be maintained for three years with your auto insurance company, according to the Georgia Department of Driver Services. Failure to maintain the form will result in your insurance company reporting you to the state and your license will be canceled.
DUI Conviction Penalties for Georgia
Along with the increase in auto insurance with the SR22A filing, there are other penalties you could be facing after such a conviction.