Does Delaware Require An SR22 to be Filed?
In a rare occurrence, Delaware does not require you to file an SR22 form with your insurance company in the event of a major traffic conviction, like a DUI. But other consequences, those similar to penalties in other states, are mandated. More on that will be explained later in further detail. In the case of major traffic violations, you will still be considered a high-risk driver, and insurance rates will increase.
It is worth noting that Delaware still requires drivers to carry a minimum liability insurance coverage.
- $25,000 for bodily injury to one person
- $50,000 for bodily injury for all persons
- $10,000 property damage per accident
DUI Convictions in Delaware
As previously mentioned, even without having to file an SR22 with your insurance company, Delaware does not let violations just go by, especially with DUI offenses. The chart below outlines what you could be facing in the event of a DUI conviction.