Filing SR22 in Connecticut
Like many other states in the country, Connecticut asks for an SR22 filing with your auto insurance company in the event of a serious traffic violation. It is required after the conviction of the following:
- Operating under the influence (OUI)
- Reckless driving
- Driving with a suspended license
- Accumulating too many minor violations (ex. speeding tickets)
- Other various serve offenses
Essentially, an SR22 assures the Connecticut government that you have the minimum liability coverage through your insurance. If asked to file an SR22, you let your auto insurance company know and then they file it with the state. Listed below is the liability insurance minimum coverage required by the state of Connecticut:
- $25,000 for bodily injury per person
- $50,000 for bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 for property damage
How Long Do You Need to Maintain an SR22 For in Connecticut?
For Connecticut, you must maintain an SR22 with your auto insurance company for one year. Failure to do so will result in your auto insurance company reporting you to the state and your driving privileges may be immediately suspended or revoked.
Connecticut Operating Under The Influence (OUI)
Drunk driving laws in Connecticut can be referred to as operating under the influence (OUI). This is defined in Connecticut law as anyone with a blood alcohol content (BAC) above 0.08. Connecticut’s OUI laws can get strict as there are two ways your driving privileges and license status come under review.
The first case is an administrative per se hearing. In this hearing, the DMV reviews your case and your license will be suspended. Generally, the suspension begins 30 days after the arrest date.
The second is a criminal case where you will receive both a summons and a court date which can result in a conviction. Depending on your previous OUI conviction record, consequences can vary. On your first conviction, your license will be suspended for 45 days. If you rack up three or more convictions, your license will be permanently revoked and you will have to wait two years to request a hearing for reconsideration.
Some other penalties you may face in Connecticut under the OUI laws are jail time, community service, and fines.
Ignition Interlock Device (IID) Requirements for Connecticut
An ignition interlock device (IID) is a device that prevents your car from starting if it registers alcohol on your breath or if you refuse to give a breath sample. Connecticut requires IID for all drivers after an alcohol-related suspension. How long it is required varies. You will be required to pay a $175 restoration fee and a $100 administration fee to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).