For the state of Arkansas, an SR22 is a certificate that proves to the state that a high-risk driver carries the legal requirements for car insurance. The following outlines information regarding SR22 insurance and the other consequences of such violations that then call for it.
Who Needs SR22 Insurance in Arkansas?
Drivers considered “high-risk” need an SR22 in the state of Arkansas. This includes:
- DUI or DWI convictions
- Refusing a breathalyzer
- Reckless or dangerous driving habits
- Multiple speeding tickets
- Driving without a license
How Long Does Arkansas Require an SR22 For?
The state of Arkansas requires a driver convicted of one of the aforementioned offenses to maintain an SR22 anywhere between three and five years.
Minimum Insurance Liability Coverage in Arkansas
Like many other states, Arkansas requires drivers to carry a minimum insurance liability coverage.
- $25,000 bodily injury per person
- $50,000 bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 for proper damage liability
DUI Conviction Penalties And SR22 Insurance Filing For Arkansas
If convicted of an alcohol-related driving violation in Arkansas, before reinstatement of your driver’s license, you are required to complete a state-sanctioned Drug and Alcohol Education or treatment program, must attend a Victim Impact Panel class, install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle, and pay a $150 reimbursement fee.
In regards to jail time and fines, after the first violation, the subsequent penalties in the state of Arkansas only come into play if it has been less than five years since the initial occurrence. In some cases, community service can be granted in lieu of jail time. Listed below is what you could be facing if convicted of a DUI in Arkansas on top of the SR22 insurance filing.