For the state of Alaska, requirements for carrying SR22 insurance depend on each individual case and a person’s history of previous offenses. They are generally required in some capacity after being convicted of serious traffic violations.
What Convictions Require An SR22?
- Reckless driving
- DUI or DWI
- Repeated driving offenses (ex. speeding tickets)
- Driving without insurance
- Other major traffic offenses
How Long Do You Need An SR22 For in Alaska?
- First Offense: 5 years
- Second Offense: 10 years
- Third Offense: 20 years
- Fourth Offense: Lifetime requirement
Depending on the case, an SR-22 form can sometimes be required for as little as three years.
SR22 Minimum Liability Coverage in Alaska
- $50,000 for bodily injury per person
- $100,000 for bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 for property damage per accident
How to File SR22 in Alaska
If not done already, obtain the state’s minimum liability auto insurance coverage. The insurance company will then file the SR22 paperwork with the state of Alaska. The SR22 insurance coverage will have to be kept active for as long as required.
How Much Does SR22 Raise Insurance Premiums in Alaska?
For Alaska, an SR22 increases auto insurance by about $50.
As previously stated, one of the offenses that can lead to an SR22 insurance requirement is a DUI conviction. It is worth noting the offenses that follow as Alaska has set some strong charges and an SR22 is certainly not the only consequence to be concerned about.
DUI Arresting Process
- Seizing of driver’s license and arrest
- Requested within 7 days
- When requested, DMW administers a temporary license until the hearing
Repeat DUI Conviction Penalties
After a third DUI offense in Alaska, whether you are charged with a misdemeanor or felony depends on when the prior conviction happened. Persons with less than three years after total felony DUI can be eligible for license reinstatement after 10 years.