Property damage is part of your insurance policy and is required by the state of Illinois. This type of coverage covers the cost of repairs for the other driver’s vehicle if you are found at fault for an accident. This coverage does not cover the costs to repair your own vehicle.
How much do I have to have?
As of 2015, under Illinois law, vehicle liability insurance must have the following minimum amounts:
- $25,000 injury or death of one person in an accident
- $50,000 injury or death of more than one person in an accident
- $20,000 damages to property of another person
Illinois is a fault state and drivers found at fault for an accident can be held responsible for the property damages that exceed the limits on their policy. You may purchase additional property damage coverage on your auto insurance policy to protect yourself from a scenario like this. Not having the minimum insurance coverage required by the state can result in license suspension, fines and even jail time.
Do you need more information about property damages? Our agents and customer service representatives are here to help. Call us today at 1-888-949-6289 or visit your nearest Insurance Navy location. For your convenience, Insurance Navy is open from 8 a.m. to 9 p.m. CST, 7 days a week
*Please review your own policy carefully for details on property damage coverage. Property damage coverage varies by insurance company.