Car Insurance in California
Affordable California Auto Insurance
California roadways rank among the busiest in the nation, with more than 24 million vehicles hitting the public roadways daily.
No matter how careful you are, accidents can happen in an instant. Each year tens of thousands of individuals are injured in motor vehicle accidents, and tens of thousands of vehicles damaged, resulting in millions in repair costs, medical bills, and higher insurance rates.
Which makes having reliable, affordable car insurance in California something you simply can’t afford to be without.
Not to mention having car insurance in California is the law.
As a responsible driver, you want to do what’s right for you, your passengers and those you share the highways with.
Let Insurance Navy help find you the best California Car Insurance policy that fits your budgets, needs and concerns.
Short on Time? – We’ve Done the Heavy Lifting for you!
At Insurance Navy we know California residents are busier than ever before, with little time left to take care of their never-ending ‘to do’ list, much less spend hours sorting through information about the insurance companies and comparing rates.
That’s why InsuranceNavy was founded. We believe in making California Car Insurance QUICK, EASY, ACCESSIBLE AND AFFORDABLE.
We meet our California drivers on their level and work to educate, assist and find the right policy, coverage, and rates that is custom-tailored to meet their every need.
No matter your level of risk (even if you’ve been in accidents or have traffic violations), we’re here to make sure you have the California Auto Insurance coverage you need to meet the state of California’s legal licensing requirements and get back on the road safely.
California Car Insurance Overview
California: an ‘at fault’ state
Also referred to as a ‘tort state’, as an ‘at fault’ state, in California any drivers found to be ‘at fault’ for a car accident are responsible for any monetary damages as a result of that accident. This includes expenses for the other drivers’ medical bills, damage to their vehicle and damage to any personal property within the vehicle.
Pure Comparative Negligence State
The state of California is a pure comparative negligence state. Although the driver found ‘at fault’ for the accident is deemed to be financially responsible for damages, they are only responsible for the extent of damages caused by their level of fault.
In lay terms, in California the driver who is primarily responsible for the crash may not be FULLY responsible for the damages and associated expenses caused as a result. What this means, is that the driver who was not found primarily responsible may be ‘partially’ at fault, and as such, responsible for a portion of the costs.
In California, Driver A was traveling at a rate of speed too fast for weather conditions and was unable to brake in time to prevent a collision. Driver A was found ‘primarily at fault’. However, Driver B had a brake light out and therefore made it harder for Driver A to see they had slowed down to a stop. Driver B was found to have been 25% responsible. If the total damages were $100,000, $25,000 (25%) would have been subtracted from the damages that Driver A was found responsible for.
Auto Insurance Claims: Statute of Limitations
Like most states, California has a statute of limitations regarding how long after a vehicle accident the injured drivers can make a claim on their auto insurance.
California Statute of Limitations for Property Damage:
- 3 years from the date of the accident
California Statute of Limitations for Personal Injury:
- 2 years from the date of the accident
California’s Minimum Car Insurance Requirements
The state of California imposes mandatory minimums on the amount of insurance coverage drivers needs to have in order to legally operate a vehicle on public roads.
California Insurance Requirements:
- Minimum of $15,000 in bodily injury liability coverage (BDL) per person
- Minimum of $30,000 per occurrence BDL coverage
- Minimum of $5,000 in property damage liability coverage (PDL)
In California, BDL car insurance insurance coverage is used to cover any expenses related to the death or injury of another driver, pedestrian or cyclist (such as for medical expenses). By contrast, PDL car insurance coverage is used to pay for damages caused to another vehicle or personal property involved in the accident.
Although the minimum car insurance coverage satisfies the laws of California licensing, it may not be sufficient to pay for damages sustained in an accident. Any expenses not covered may be imposed on the ‘at fault’ driver in a California civil court and you may be held personally liable for any outstanding balances or awarded damages.
Unlike some other states, California does not require drivers to purchase ‘underinsured motorist’ or ‘uninsured motorist’ insurance coverage, nor does the state require collision and comprehensive insurance coverage.
SR-22 Auto Insurance in California
California Drivers who have been involved in serious accidents, convicted of reckless driving, a DUI or other major violations may have their drivers license suspended and their insurance policy dropped.
For those in this predicament, finding policy coverage to meet the state minimum mandatory requirements can be a challenge. Luckily, SR-22 car insurance policies exist to help those with less than stellar traffic records legally get back behind the wheel.
Drivers convicted of serious traffic violations may need to maintain SR-22 coverage in California for a period of three or more years.
Stiff Penalties for Lapses in Coverage
Letting your insurance coverage lapse in California can end up costing you big!
Don’t get caught off guard by California’s stiff penalties for those who let their auto coverage lapse. In such cases courts have been known to impound vehicles until proof of insurance can be brought before the court.
Those who Are Pulled Over Without Proof Of Insurance Face Fines Including:
- Between $100-$200 for a first-time offence
- Between $200-$500 per each repeat offense that occurs within 3-years from the first offense
California ‘Good Driver’ Discounts?
When it comes to auto insurance, California has a record for it’s forward-thinking approaches. For example, those with a good driving record may qualify for a state-mandated good driving discount on their insurance policy (no matter which company they buy their coverage from).
Think You Can Skimp on Coverage?
California Accident Facts
Second only to Texas, California leads the nation in automobile accidents and fatalities yearly. With more than 39 million residents and more than 400,000 miles of freeways, the risks of driving in California are ever-present.
Don’t let you or a loved one get caught off guard. A single accident without the right car insurance policy in California can be devastating, with the implications lasting for decades.
Let us help you find the right policy at the right price.
Want to learn more, check out one of our blog Articles about How to Sell a Car in California.