Wyoming Minimum Car Insurance Requirements
The state of Wyoming requires all its drivers to carry liability insurance. Failure to provide proof of this coverage can have some serious consequences. The state-mandated mandatory liability insurance minimums every driver in Wyoming must carry is as follows:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person
- $50,000 bodily injury per accident
- $20,000 property damage per accident
Also, keep in mind that if you have an auto loan or lease your vehicle, you may be required to carry additional coverage. Check with your lender or leasing vehicle for more information prior to signing onto a policy.
Wyoming Liability Car Insurance
Like many other states, Wyoming requires all its drivers to carry liability insurance. Liability insurance covers bodily injuries and property damage you cause in an accident you have found to be responsible for. It is important to remember that your liability coverage will never pay for your injuries or damage to your property.
Car Insurance Limits in Wyoming
Almost every state in America has a set mandatory liability coverage limit minimum that drivers must meet in order to hit the road. In the world of insurance, limits are also the maximum amount your policy will pay out in the event of a claim. You can adjust these to expand coverage, but they should never go below the state’s law.
In the state of Wyoming, the liability insurance limits are expressed as 25/50/20. Each number refers to a different aspect of liability coverage: bodily injury per person, bodily injury per accident, and property damage, respectively. More on these categories is explained below.
- Bodily injury per person is how much your insurer will pay for injuries to one person in an accident you caused.
- Bodily injury per accident is the maximum amount your insurance company will pay for all injuries you cause in an accident.
- Property damage per accident is the amount your insurer will cover for the property you damage in an accident.
Is Wyoming’s Mandatory Car Insurance Minimums Enough Coverage?
The mandatory minimums for insurance coverage in Wyoming are fairly average compared to other states but do not think that means it is enough. Carrying only the state-mandated minimums will leave you and your assets at risk. For example, if you end up causing a multi-vehicle collision, $20,000 may struggle to pay for the full extent of the damage. Anything that is not paid for by insurance can fall back in your lap. For this reason, it would be best to increase coverage limits when shopping for an insurance policy. Also, consider utilizing additional types of car insurance to expand coverage.
Driving Without Proof of Car Insurance in Wyoming
Carrying liability insurance is law in Wyoming. Failure to abide by the law comes with serious penalties. The chart below outlines what you could be facing if you choose to drive without insurance in the state of Wyoming.