West Virginia Minimum Car Insurance Requirements
The state of West Virginia requires its drivers to carry liability insurance. Proof of this coverage must also be carried, and you must be ready to present it when requested by law enforcement. This insurance requirement also comes with state-mandated coverage minimums. The mandatory liability insurance minimums for the state of West Virginia are as follows:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person
- $50,000 bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 property damage per accident
Keep in mind that if you have an auto loan or lease your vehicle, you may be required to obtain additional car insurance from your lender or leasing company.
West Virginia Liability Car Insurance
The state of West Virginia requires all its drivers to carry liability insurance. This coverage pays for bodily injuries and property damage you cause in an accident you have been found to be at fault for. It can also cover other expenses like lost wages. It is important to note that your liability insurance will never cover your injuries or property to your damage. For such protection, you will need to add other types of insurance to your policy.
Car Insurance Limits in West Virginia
Nearly every state sets its own mandatory insurance limits that you must carry a minimum of in order to be considered a legal driver. Limits are also known in the insurance world as the maximum amount of money your policy will pay out in the event of a claim. These can be adjusted to give more coverage but should never go below the mandate.
For the state of West Virginia, only liability insurance is the only required insurance. West Virginia has set the mandatory liability insurance limits as 25/50/25. Each number represented a different aspect of liability coverage: bodily injury per person, bodily injury per accident, and property damage, respectively.
- Bodily injury per person is the maximum amount your insurance will pay for a single person’s injuries in an accident you caused.
- Bodily injury per accident is how much your insurer will cover for all injuries you cause in an accident.
- Property damage per accident is the amount of money your insurer will pay for the damage you cause in an accident.
Is West Virginia’s Mandatory Car Insurance Minimums Enough Coverage?
The insurance limits for West Virginia are not enough to fully protect you in an accident. Carrying the state-mandated minimums will leave a lot at risk. For example, if you cause an accident with multiple vehicles, $25,000 may not even begin to cover the auto repair bills. If you total a car, expenses can easily exceed $25,000. To protect your finances from having to deal with such an unfortunate situation, it is highly recommended that you increase your coverage limits and utilize additional coverage.
Driving Without Car Insurance in West Virginia
Insurance is required by law in West Virginia. Failure to comply will result in you facing some serious penalties. Outlined below are the consequences of failing to provide proof of insurance in the state of West Virginia.
- A fine ranging from $200-$5,000
- License suspension
- Reinstatement fees
- Maintain an SR-22 car insurance certificate for 3 years
- Possible jail time
Additional Types of Car Insurance in West Virginia
Since West Virginia only mandates its drivers' carry liability insurance, it would be wise to look into some additional coverage to strengthen your policy. Listed below are some common types of car insurance you can include on your insurance policy.
- Collision: This coverage protects your vehicle from damage following an accident with another car.
- Comprehensive: This covers damage your vehicle sustains when it is not in use. Some perils covered under this policy include theft and extreme weather.
- Roadside Assistance: If your car experiences mechanical issues while on the road, roadside assistance can be there to resolve a number of technical issues.
- Medical Payment: This coverage pays for medical expenses you and your passenger(s) accumulate following an accident.
- Uninsured Motorist Coverage: If you encounter a driver lacking liability insurance, you can use uninsured motorist coverage to help get your medical expenses and auto repairs paid for.
Car Insurance is Important For Any West Virginia Driver
While you can’t predict a car accident, you can try to prepare for one, and the best way to go about that is to purchase a proper car insurance policy. By obtaining adequate coverage, you can protect yourself and your assets from the unthinkable. Accidents can get very pricey. You do not want to leave anything at risk when you get behind the wheel of the car, not to mention that denying a policy is illegal. Liability insurance will not only help you stay on the right side of the law, but it will also offer you valuable coverage.
You don’t have to keep paying high rates for good coverage. Insurance Navy can help you get cheap car insurance today. Call 888-949-6289 or request a free quote online. Need more assistance? Stop in at one of our many storefronts to speak with a representative.
*This product may not be available in every state, please call an agent for more information.