ClickCease
Nearest Office:

Utah Car Insurance Requirements

Utah Minimum Car Insurance Requirements

The state of Utah requires drivers to carry two types of car insurance: liability coverage and personal injury protection (PIP). Failure to carry what is mandated can result in you facing some hefty penalties. Outlined below is the mandatory minimum amount of each insurance every driver must carry according to Utah law.

Liability Insurance

  • $25,000 bodily injury per person
  • $65,000 bodily injury per accident
  • $15,000 property damage per accident

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

  • $3,000 per person

It is also important to note that if you have an auto loan or lease your vehicle, your lender or leasing company may require you to carry additional car insurance.

Utah Liability Insurance

As is the case with nearly every other state in America, Utah requires drivers to carry liability insurance. Liability insurance covers bodily injuries and property damage you cause in an accident you have been found to be at fault for. Keep in mind that liability coverage will never cover any of your injuries or damage to your property.

Utah Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

Utah also requires its drivers to carry personal injury protection (PIP). PIP coverage goes towards paying for medical costs you and your passenger(s) accumulate following an accident. This insurance will payout no matter who was found to be at fault for the incident. After an accident, you can file a claim utilizing your PIP coverage before turning to the other driver’s liability insurance if they were at fault for the accident. If you were the responsible party, your expenses would be covered under this insurance requirement.

Car Insurance Limits in Utah

An insurance limit is the maximum amount of money that an insurer will payout in the event of a claim. Liability coverage limits are set by each state and encompass three aspects of insurance. In the state of Utah, the liability insurance limits are expressed as 25/65/15. These numbers represent three areas of liability coverage: bodily injury per person, bodily injury per accident, and property damage, respectively. What each of these covers is outlined below.

  • Bodily injury per person is how much your insurer will pay for a single person’s injuries in an accident you caused.
  • Bodily injury per accident is the maximum amount of money your insurance company will pay for all injuries in an accident.
  • Property damage is the total amount your insurance policy will pay for the damage you caused in an accident.

Is Utah’s Mandatory Insurance Minimums Enough Coverage?

No. If you choose to only carry the state-mandated liability insurance minimums, you will be leaving you and your assets at risk. The coverage limits will most likely not be enough to protect you in an accident, especially if it involves two or more vehicles. If you total someone else’s car in an accident you were at fault for, $15,000 will not be enough to cover the cost of a new vehicle, and anything unpaid ends up back in your lap. In order to protect your finances, you will want to purchase a policy with increased coverage limits.

Driving Without Insurance in Utah

With car insurance being required by law in Utah, failure to provide proof of coverage can have some serious consequences. Listed below is what you could be facing if you choose to get behind the wheel of a car uninsured.

  • A fine ranging from $400-$1,000 depending on the offense
  • Charged with Class B misdemeanor
  • License suspension
  • SR22 requirement
  • Reinstatement fees

Additional Types of Car Insurance in Utah

While the state of Utah does require drivers to carry two types of insurance, there are still many ways you can expand your policy coverage. Listed below are some common policy add-ons.

  • Collision: Collision coverage pays for damage to your vehicle following an accident with another car.
  • Comprehensive: This coverage protects your vehicle from non-collision-related incidents. Some perils under this policy include theft and extreme weather.
  • Roadside Assistance: If your car has some mechanical issues, roadside assistance can be there to resolve various problems you encounter on the road.
  • Uninsured Motorist Coverage: This type of coverage will pick up your expenses when the at-fault driver lacks liability insurance.
  • Gap Coverage: This insurance will cover the difference in your vehicle’s actual cash value and what is remaining on your auto loan. This can come in handy if you end up owing more than what your car is actually worth.

Car Insurance is Important For Any Utah Driver

While you cannot predict a car accident, you can try to prepare for it, and purchasing a car insurance policy is the best way to go about that. Just make sure that the insurance limits are enough to actually offer some assistance. Do not carry only what Utah requires for its drivers. This can leave you and your assets at risk. If you feel the need to, include policy add-ons. They can be a great way to make sure your property stays protected.

*This product may not be available in every state, please call an agent for more information.

Call Us Today! 888-949-NAVY