Tennessee Minimum Car Insurance Requirements
The state of Tennessee requires all drivers to carry liability insurance. Failure to comply with this law can have some pretty serious consequences. The mandatory liability coverage minimums according to Tennessee law are as follows:
$25,000 for bodily injury per person
- $50,000 for bodily injury per accident
- $15,000 for property damage per accident
You should also keep in mind that if you have an auto loan or are leasing your vehicle, your lender or leasing company could require you to carry additional car insurance.
Tennessee Liability Car Insurance
As is the case with many states, Tennessee only requires drivers to carry liability insurance. Liability insurance covers the bodily injuries and property damage you cause to another driver in an accident you have found to be at fault for. It is important to note that your liability policy will never cover any of your injuries or damage to your property.
Car Insurance Limits in Tennessee
Nearly every state in America mandates drivers carry a minimum amount of insurance in order to be considered legal drivers. This minimum is known as the state-mandated coverage limit. From an insurance standpoint, a limit on a policy is also the maximum amount of money your insurer will pay in the event of a claim.
For the state of Tennessee, the mandatory minimums for liability insurance are expressed as 25/50/15. Each number represents a different component of liability insurance: bodily injury per person, bodily injury per accident, and property damage, respectively. What these categories cover in a claim can be found below.
- Bodily injury per person refers to the maximum amount your insurer will pay for a single person’s injuries in an accident you caused.
- Bodily injury per accident is the amount of money your insurance company will pay for all injuries you cause in an accident.
- Property damage per accident is how much your insurer will pay to cover damage you cause to property in an accident.
Tennessee also allows these requirements to be met via a combined single limit. A combined single limit means you cant set one number that will be divided among bodily injuries and property damage after an accident. This allows for flexibility in how claims are covered. Check with your insurer about if they offer a combined single limit as not all do.
Is Tennessee’s Mandatory Car Insurance Minimums Enough Coverage?
Carrying the mandatory insurance minimums strictly in Tennessee can leave you at risk. For example, if you end up totaling someone else’s car and must cover the expenses for a new one, $15,000 may not make much of a dent in those costs. If there are multiple vehicles involved in your accident, you will need a way to pay for all of them. Whatever ends up not being covered by your insurer will come back to you with the expectation that you will pay out of pocket. For these reasons and many others, it is recommended you increase coverage limits when shopping for insurance.
Driving Without Car Insurance in Tennessee
Car insurance is required by law in Tennessee. Failure to carry a policy can result in you facing some hefty penalties:
- A fine of $300
- Licenses suspension
- Retake driver’s license exam
- Registration suspended
- Restoration fees
- Maintain an SR-22 car insurance certificate for 3 years
Additional Types of Car Insurance in Tennessee
Since Tennessee only requires its drivers to carry liability insurance, it would be wise to look into some policy add-ons. Listed below are common types of car insurance that can help expand your coverage.
- Comprehensive: This coverage protects your vehicle against damage related to non-collision incidents. Some perils covered under this policy include theft and extreme weather.
- Collision: This insurance covers damage to your vehicle after an accident with another car.
- Roadside Assistance: If your car is experiencing some mechanical issues while on the road, roadside assistance can be there to help resolve a variety of problems.
- Uninsured Motorist Coverage: Despite insurance being mandated by law, millions of drivers hit the road without a policy. If you get into an accident with such a driver and need expenses covered, uninsured motorist insurance can pay for injuries and property damage.
- Medical Payments: This coverage will pay for medical costs you and your passenger(s) accumulate following an accident.single combined
Car Insurance is Important For Any Tennessee Driver
While it is good to carry insurance to stay within the law, that should not be the only reason you purchase a policy. This can lead to you only carrying the state-mandated minimums, and in Tennessee, that can end you up in some unfortunate situations. It would be wise to purchase a policy with increased coverage limits and utilize any policy add-ons you feel would benefit you as a driver. Accidents can get costly, and you do not want to leave your finances at risk.
Don’t underestimate the importance of having good car insurance coverage. Insurance Navy can help you get the cheap car insurance policy you need at the most budget-friendly rates. Request a free quote online or give us a call at 888-949-6289.
*This product may not be available in every state, please call an agent for more information.