Pennsylvania Minimum Car Insurance Requirements
The state of Pennsylvania requires all drivers to carry two types of car insurance: liability coverage and first party benefits (FPB). These types of insurance also come with their own required minimums. The minimum coverage limits according to Pennsylvania law are as follows:
- $15,000 bodily injury per person
- $30,000 bodily injury per accident
- $5,000 property damage per accident
First Party Benefits
- $5,000 per person
You must carry proof of insurance at all times when driving in Pennsylvania. It is almost important to note that if you are financing your vehicle, you could be required to carry additional car insurance.
No-Fault Car Insurance in Pennsylvania
Pennsylvania is what is known as a no-fault state. This means that after an accident, you would first turn to your own insurance company to have your medical expenses covered. Each person takes care of their own medical costs. This is meant to reduce the chances of drivers getting into legal battles with one another. It is to guarantee that everyone’s medical bills will be covered no matter what.
Tort Options in Pennsylvania
The state of Pennsylvania is unique in the sense there is a tort option. The tort option will determine your right to sue another driver for pain and suffering compensation. You can choose a full or limited tort option. If you select a limited tort option, your right to sue the other driver is reserved only for non-monetary damages. Exceptions can be made for extreme circumstances involving death or permanent disfigurement following an accident. Choosing the full tort option allows you to sue for any accident-related pain and suffering. Premiums will fluctuate based on which tort option you go with.
First Party Benefits in Pennsylvania
First party benefits (FPB) will help cover medical costs you and your passenger(s) accumulate following an accident. It pays out regardless of who was found to be at fault for the incident. FPB covers expenses like dental, hospital expenses, and nursing services should they be needed.
Pennsylvania Liability Car Insurance
As is the case with many other states, Pennsylvania requires all drives to carry liability insurance. Liability insurance will cover bodily injuries and property damage you cause to another driver in an accident you are found to be at fault for. It is important to note that your liability insurance will never cover your injuries or damage to your property.
Car Insurance Limits in Pennsylvania
Nearly every state in America requires drivers to carry a minimum amount of insurance in order to legally drive. These minimums are known as limits. From an insurance standpoint, coverage limits are also the most an insurer will payout in the event of a claim. In the state of Pennsylvania, the liability insurance limits are expressed as 15/30/5. Each number represents a different aspect of liability coverage: bodily injury per person, bodily injury per accident, and property damage, respectively. Further explanation on liability insurance limits can be found below.
- Bodily injury per person is the maximum amount of money your insurance company will pay for one person’s injuries in an accident you caused.
- Bodily injury per accident is the amount of money your insurer will pay for all injuries in an accident you caused.
- Property damage per accident is how much your insurance company will cover for damage you cause to another driver’s property in an accident.
Is Pennsylvania’s Mandatory Car Insurance Minimums Enough Coverage?
Pennsylvania has fairly low mandated minimum coverage limits. If you choose to only carry the required policy, you could be putting you and your assets at risk. In order to avoid this, it would be wise to purchase a policy with increased insurance limits and look into any available add-ons. If you end up in a severe accident, $5,000 will not even begin to cover the cost of damaged property, especially if you total someone else’s car. This could leave your finances in an unfortunate situation.
Driving Without Car Insurance in Pennsylvania
Since car insurance is required by law in Pennsylvania, failing to comply with mandates has some serious consequences. Listed below is what you could be facing should you be caught driving without insurance in the state of Pennsylvania,
- $300 fine
- License suspension
- Restoration fees
- Vehicle registration suspension
- Maintain an SR-22 certificate
Additional Types of Car Insurance in Pennsylvania
While Pennsylvania does mandate two types of car insurance be carried by drivers, it would be beneficial to consider some policy add-ons in order to strengthen your coverage. Listed below are some common types of car insurance you can add to your policy.
- Collision: Collision coverage protects your vehicle against any damage it sustains when in an accident with another car.
- Comprehensive: This covers any damage to your vehicle that occurs when it is not in use. Some perils included under this policy are theft and extreme weather.
- Gap Coverage: This coverage pays the difference in your vehicle’s actual cash value and what you still have left on your auto loan.
- Uninsured Motorist Coverage: This type of insurance will help you cover expenses if you end up in an accident with a driver lacking proper liability insurance.
- Roadside Assistance: If your car has some mechanical problems while you are on the road, roadside assistance can be there to resolve your car issues.
Car Insurance is Important For Any Pennsylvania Driver
Car insurance is not only required by law in Pennsylvania, but it also is a great way to have some coverage following an accident. Collisions can get very pricey, and if you are left without the proper protection, you and your assets will be put in an unfortunate position. You should try to purchase a policy with high coverage limits and features any add-ons you deem necessary as a driver. Insurance may seem like a tedious process, but after an accident, you will be glad you took the time to sort through it all.
If you’re shopping for auto insurance, your search ends with Insurance Navy. We work to pair drives with the best insurance that meets their needs. Call us today at 888-949-6289 to get a free cheap car insurance quote, or stop in at one of our many locations to get started. Don’t have time to speak with a representative? Quotes are also available through our website and mobile app.
*This product may not be available in every state, please call an agent for more information.