Oregon Minimum Car Insurance Requirements
The state of Oregon requires all drivers to carry a few different types of car insurance. According to Oregon law, drivers must carry liability insurance, personal injury protection (PIP), and uninsured motorist coverage. Each of these types of car insurance also come with their own state-mandated minimums. Those minimums are as follows:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person
- $50,000 bodily injury per accident
- $20,000 property damage per accident
Uninsured Motorist Coverage
- $25,000 bodily injury per person
- $50,000 bodily injury per accident
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
- $15,000 per person
Oregon Liability Car Insurance
Liability insurance is one of the required insurances every driver in the state of Oregon must carry. This is not uncommon as many states across America mandated liability insurance coverage. Liability coverage pays for the medical expenses and property damage you cause to another driver in an accident you have found to be responsible for. It is important to note that your liability insurance will never pay for any of your injuries or damage to your property.
Oregon Uninsured Motorist Coverage
Despite car insurance being required in many states, millions of drivers choose not to obtain a policy. If you end up in an accident with such a driver, uninsured motorist coverage can help. It is part of the mandated car insurance coverage in the state of Oregon. If the at-fault driver’s insurance is unable to cover your medical expenses, uninsured motorist coverage can help with your claims.
Oregon Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
Before attempting to file claims with the other party’s insurance, you will have to turn to personal injury protection (PIP) first. The state of Oregon mandates that every driver carry a minimum amount of PIP coverage. This type of insurance will cover you and your passenger(s) medical bills following an accident. If your injuries are severe or the accident results in someone’s death, you can then file claims with the at-fault driver’s liability insurance.
Diminished Value in Oregon
Oregon is one of 15 states that is a diminished value state. Being a diminished value state means that you are able to try to recover diminished value from the at-fault driver’s insurance if you experience losses when selling your vehicle. Even if your car has been totally restored, the fact that it was in an accident brings down its value. If you witness this during the selling process, you can try to file a diminished value claim with the other party’s insurer.
In the state of Oregon, you must meet the following requirements in order to file such a claim:
- You were not responsible for the accident
- You can provide sufficient documentation of the incident, including photos and records of repairs
- The accident happened under 6 years ago
- Oregon does have uninsured motorist coverage for such a claim
Car Insurance Limits in Oregon
Coverage limits refer to the maximum amount of money your insurer will payout in the event of a claim. States are also free to set their minimum limits that every driver must carry. In the state of Oregon, liability insurance limits are expressed as 25/50/20. This is the most common way you will see limits expressed. Each number represents a different aspect of insurance. Those categories and what they can cover are explained below.
- Bodily injury per person is the maximum amount your insurer will pay for injuries to one person in an accident you caused.
- Bodily injury per accident is how much your insurance company will put for all injuries in an accident you are responsible for.
- Property damage per accident is the amount of money your insurer will payout for damage you cause to another driver’s property in an accident.
Coverage limits for uninsured motorist coverage are expressed the same way. For the state of Oregon, uninsured motorist coverage limits are 25/50. These numbers represent the insurance limits for bodily injury per person and bodily injury per accident, just as is outlined above. The only difference is these limits will pay for injuries you sustain when the other driver’s insurance is inadequate.
Is Oregon’s Mandatory Car Insurance Minimums Enough Coverage?
While the state of Oregon does require more types of car insurance than other states, the coverage limits are not sufficient. It is highly recommended that when you are going to buy car insurance you should purchase a policy with increased limits and look into any add-ons that would make sense for your driving circumstances. Purchasing only the state-mandated minimum amount of coverage can leave you and your assets at risk.
Driving Without Proof of Car Insurance in Oregon
Due to car insurance being mandated by Oregon law, failure to provide proof of coverage can have serious consequences. Listed below is what you could be facing should you choose to drive without insurance in the state of Oregon.
- A fine ranging from $130 to $1,000
- Maintain an SR-22 certificate for 3 years
- Reinstatement fees
- License suspension
- Suspension of vehicle registration
- Possible vehicle impoundment
Additional Types of Car Insurance in Oregon
While Oregon does require you to carry a few different types of car insurance, there are still many ways you can expand your coverage. Listed below are some common car insurance policy add-ons.
- Collision: This coverage protects your car from damages it sustains in an accident with another vehicle.
- Comprehensive: This covers damage to your car that is a result of a non-collision-related incident. Some perils under this policy include theft and extreme weather.
- Gap Coverage: This type of insurance can help pay the difference in what you have left on your auto loan and what your vehicle actually is worth. Gap coverage can come in handy if your car is totaled before the loan is paid off.
- Roadside Assistance: If your car ends up broken down on the highway, roadside assistance can be there to help you get back up and running.
- Rental Car Reimbursement: If your car has to spend some time in the shop following an accident, rental car reimbursement will cover the costs of renting a temporary vehicle while you wait for yours to get fixed.
Car Insurance is Important For Any Oregon Driver
While the legal requirements are a great reason to obtain car insurance in Oregon, it should not be your only reason. If you choose to carry just the state-mandated minimums, then you leave yourself very vulnerable. Whatever your policy will not cover can land back in your lap with the expectation you will pay out of pocket for the rest. This leaves your finances in an unfortunate situation. The best way to avoid this is to shop around for car insurance and purchase a policy with expansive coverage.
Save money on your car insurance by shopping with Insurance Navy today. Insurance Navy works with drivers of all risk levels to find them good, cheap car insurance coverage. Call 888-949-6289 to get started with a quote or apply online via our website and mobile app.
*This product may not be available in every state, please call an agent for more information.