ClickCease
Nearest Office:

North Dakota Car Insurance Requirements

North Dakota Minimum Car Insurance Requirements

The state of North Dakota requires drivers to carry a few different types of car insurance. According to North Dakota law, all drivers must carry liability insurance, uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, and personal injury protection (PIP). Listed below are the mandatory minimum amount each driver must carry.

Liability Insurance

  • $25,000 bodily injury per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury per accident
  • $25,000 property damage per accident

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

  • $25,000 bodily injury per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury per accident

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

  • $30,000 per person

North Dakota also requires all drives to carry proof of insurance. You should be ready to present it when asked to by law enforcement. If you have an auto loan or lease your vehicle, your lender or leasing company may require you to carry additional car insurance.

North Dakota Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

The state of North Dakota requires all drivers to carry uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage. This type of insurance can help pay for injuries you sustain in an accident with a driver lacking proper car insurance. Despite insurance being mandatory for all drivers, millions choose to risk it. Getting into a collision with such a driver can be stressful, but uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage is there to offer some assistance.

North Dakota Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

North Dakota drivers must also carry at least a certain minimum amount of personal injury protection (PIP). PIP coverage covers medical expenses you and your passenger(s) accumulate following a collision. It will payout no matter who was deemed responsible for the accident. PIP coverage also goes towards lost wages, rehab costs, and hospital stays.

North Dakota Liability Insurance

The final type of insurance North Dakota mandates for all drivers to carry is liability insurance. Liability insurance will pay for injuries and property damage you cause in an accident you have found to be responsible for. It is important to note that this type of insurance will never cover your injuries or any damage to your property. This is reserved for when you are at fault for an accident.

Car Insurance Limits in North Dakota

Coverage limits refer to the maximum amount of money your insurer will payout in the event of a claim. At the same time, states can mandate minimum limits of coverage every driver must carry. In the state of North Dakota, this can be most notably found with liability insurance. Their liability insurance minimum limits are expressed as 25/50/25. Each of the numbers represents a different aspect of liability coverage. Those categories and what they can cover are found below.

  • Bodily injury per person is how much your insurer will payout for a single person’s injuries in an accident you caused.
  • Bodily injury per accident is the maximum amount of money your insurance company will pay for all injuries you cause in an accident.
  • Property damage per accident is the amount your insurer will pay for damage you cause in an accident.

Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage limits are also listed in a split limit fashion in North Dakota. What they cover is the same as liability bodily injury insurance, with the main difference being uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance covers your injuries when the at-fault party cannot.

Is North Dakota’s Mandatory Insurance Minimums Enough Coverage?

While the state of North Dakota requires drivers to carry a few different kinds of car insurance, the coverage limits are not sufficient enough to offer you proper protection. It is highly recommended that you increase insurance limits and look into policy add-ons when going to purchase car insurance. If an accident is severe, you could be left on the hook for whatever your insurer will not cover. This can put your finances in an unfortunate position. Protect you and your assets before it gets to that point.

Driving Without Proof of Insurance in North Dakota

Driving without insurance in the state of North Dakota is a notable offense. Conviction of such a crime and come with a variety of penalties. The chart below outlines what you could be facing should you choose to drive without car insurance in North Dakota.

Consequences
1st Offense
2nd Offense
Fines
$150-$1,000
$300-$5,000
SR22 Requirement
1 year
1 year
Jail Time
N/A
30 days

On top of what has been outlined above, you could also be facing court fees and reinstatement fees. You will also need to provide proof of insurance to regain control of your license.

Additional Types of Car Insurance in North Dakota

While the state of North Dakota does require a couple of different types of insurances to be carried as a driver, there are still numerous ways you can expand your coverage. Listed below are some common types of car insurance you can add to your policy for better protection.

  • Collision: Collision coverage pays for damage to your car following an accident with another vehicle.
  • Comprehensive: This coverage protects your vehicle from the damage it sustains when not in use. Some perils covered under this insurance include theft and extreme weather.
  • Gap Coverage: If your car is totaled before your loan is paid off, gap coverage can maybe help. This type of insurance will cover the difference in what your vehicle's actual cash value is and the remaining amount on your loan.
  • Roadside Assistance: This coverage helps to fix any mechanical issues you may experience while driving on the road.
  • Rental Car Reimbursement: If your car has to spend some time in the shop following an accident, this coverage can help pay for the costs of a rental vehicle while you wait for yours to be back up and running.

Car Insurance is Important For Any North Dakota Driver

Car insurance is not only required by law in North Dakota; it also offers you valuable protection as a driver. If you end up in a severe accident, you will want insurance to help cover it. Anything that they cannot pay for will land back in your lap, most likely leading to you having to pay out of pocket. In order to protect you and your assets, you will want an adequate car insurance policy. This includes increasing coverage limits and utilizing policy add-ons.

*This product may not be available in every state, please call an agent for more information.