New Hampshire Minimum Car Insurance Requirements
New Hampshire is a unique state in that it does not require drivers to carry any form of car insurance. But despite this, even if you choose to forego obtaining a policy, you are still responsible for any damage you cause in a collision. Without insurance, you will more likely than not be paying everything out of pocket.
If you decide to carry car insurance, you will have to meet the following minimum coverage amounts:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person
- $50,000 bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 property damage per accident
- $1,000 per person
Even if the state of New Hampshire doesn’t mandate drivers to carry car insurance, your lender or leasing company sure can. If you have an auto loan or lease your vehicle, you could be required to carry additional insurance.
New Hampshire Liability Insurance
Liability insurance covers two areas: bodily injuries and property damage. It will help pay for any expenses the other driver accumulates following an accident you are found to be at fault for. Remember, liability coverage will never pay for your injuries. Nor will it cover any damage to your property. To have protection for yourself, you will need to expand your policy.
Car Insurance Limits in New Hampshire
Coverage limits refer to the maximum amount of money an insurance company will payout in the event of a claim. It also outlines the state-mandated minimum amount of liability insurance all drivers must carry. In New Hampshire, despite the state not having any laws about car insurance coverage, it still has a minimum you must meet should you wish to carry a policy. That limit is expressed as 25/50/25. Each number refers to a different aspect of liability insurance. What these categories are and cover is explored below.
- Bodily injury per person is the maximum amount of money your insurance company will pay out for one person’s injuries in an accident you caused.
- Bodily injury per accident refers to how much your insurer will cover for all injuries you cause in an accident.
- Property damage per accident is what your insurance will cover up to for damage you cause in an accident.
Is New Hampshire’s Mandatory Insurance Minimums Enough Coverage?
Considering that New Hampshire does not mandate any car insurance minimums, no. The coverage is not adequate, and choosing not to carry insurance is gravely irresponsible. If you do decide to purchase liability insurance, you will still want to expand coverage limits. The minimums are not enough to cover you in an accident, especially if it is severe. While you are increasing coverage limits, you will also want to look into policy add-ons. They can offer more protection for you and your passenger(s).
Driving Without Proof of Insurance in New Hampshire
Due to car insurance not being required, there are no penalties on the lawbooks for driving without a policy. But this does not mean that you will get off scot-free following an accident. There may be small fines you will have to pay, and you could still be on the hook for the damage and injuries caused. It would be incredibly smart of you to carry an adequate policy in order to protect you and your assets.
Additional Types of Car Insurance in New Hampshire
The state of New Hampshire does offer many ways for you to expand your car insurance policy should you choose to carry one. Outlined below are some common policy add-ons to strengthen your coverage.
- Collision: This insurance pays for damage to your vehicle caused by an accident with another car.
- Comprehensive: Comprehensive coverage pays for any damages your vehicle sustains when it is not in use. Some perils covered under this insurance include theft and extreme weather.
- Gap Coverage: If your car is totaled before you can pay off your auto loan, gap coverage will help. This insurance will cover the difference between your vehicle’s actual cash value and what is left on your loan.
- Roadside Assistance: If your car breaks down on the highway, roadside assistance can be there to get you back up and running. It can help fix mechanical issues like a dead car battery.
- Rental Car Reimbursement: If your ca is out of commission follow an accident, this coverage helps pay the costs of renting a vehicle while you wait for yours to be fixed.
Car Insurance is Important For Any New Hampshire Driver
Despite car insurance not being mandated by law in New Hampshire, it would still be in your best interest to carry a policy while driving. A good car insurance policy protects both you and your assets. It would be vital to have especially if you cannot pay out of pocket for damages and injuries you cause in an accident. And if you choose to obtain a policy, try increasing your coverage limits and utilizing policy add-ons in order to make sure you actually have adequate protection. You do not want to go through all the trouble of obtaining a policy just for it not to offer much help.
*This product may not be available in every state, please call an agent for more information.