Nevada Minimum Car Insurance Requirements
The state of Nevada requires all drivers to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance in order to legally drive. These mandatory minimums for Nevada are as follows:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person
- $50,000 bodily injury per accident
- $20,000 property damage per accident
You should be prepared to show proof of insurance if you are asked to do so by law enforcement. Also, keep in mind that if you have an auto loan or are leasing your vehicle in the state of Nevada, your lender or leasing company may require you to carry additional car insurance.
Nevada Liability Car Insurance
Liability insurance covers injuries and property damage you cause in an accident you have found to be responsible for. It will also help pay for any lost wages the other driver may experience as a result of your negligence. It’s important to remember that liability insurance will never pay for your injuries. It also does not extend coverage to damage your property sustains.
Car Insurance Limits in Nevada
Coverage limits refer to the maximum amount of money your insurance company will payout in the event of a claim. It also outlines the state-mandated minimum amount of insurance every driver must carry. In the state of Nevada, those limits for liability insurance are 25/50/20. Each of the numbers represents a different aspect of liability coverage. What those categories are and what they cover are explored below.
- Bodily injury per person is the maximum amount your insurer will pay for a single person’s injuries in an accident you caused.
- Bodily injury per accident is how much your insurance company will pay for all injuries you cause in an accident.
- Property damage per accident refers to the maximum amount of money your insurance company will payout for damage you cause to the driver’s property.
Is Nevada’s Mandatory Car Insurance Minimums Enough Coverage?
In short, no. The mandatory minimums for liability insurance in Nevada are not enough to offer you adequate protection after an accident. While these limits can be a starting point, you are going to want to increase them when buying a policy. It would also be worth looking into policy add-ons to make sure you are protected should you cause an accident. It is very important, though, that your coverage limits are high enough that they can properly cover medical expenses and property damage. Should you total someone else’s car, $20,000 in property damage may not completely cover the price of a new vehicle, and anything not paid for by insurance can land back in your lap. Keep this in mind as you go shopping for policies.
Driving Without Car Insurance in Nevada
The state of Nevada has a pretty intricate penalty system when it comes to convictions for driving without insurance. A lot of it depends on the number of days you let your policy lapse. The chart below outlines what you could be facing should you be caught driving without insurance. Remember that the severity of your penalty can be adjusted based on the circumstances of your case.