ClickCease
Nearest Office:

Nebraska Car Insurance Requirements

Nebraska Minimum Car Insurance Requirements

As is the case with many states, Nebraska requires you to carry a certain level of auto insurance in order to be a legal driver. While some states only require liability insurance, the state of Nebraska is a little unique in mandating drivers carry both liability and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. The required minimum amounts of each type of insurance can be found below:

Liability Insurance

  • $25,000 bodily injury per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury per accident
  • $25,000 property damage per accident

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

  • $25,000 bodily injury per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury per accident

You should also keep in mind that if you have an auto loan or are leasing your vehicle in the state of Nebraska, your lender or leasing company may require you to carry additional car insurance. Failure to provide proof of insurance when asked by law enforcement can result in a variety of penalties like fines and an SR22 certificate requirement.

Nebraska Liability Insurance

The state of Nebraska requires all drivers to carry a certain amount of liability insurance. Liability insurance pays for any damage and injuries you cause to another driver in an accident you are found to be responsible for. It covers expenses of things such as auto repair, lost wages, and pain and suffering compensation. It’s important to remember that liability insurance will never cover your injuries or damages your property sustained in an accident.

Nebraska Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

On top of liability insurance, Nebraska requires drivers to carry uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. Specifically, this insurance covers any bodily injuries you sustain in an accident with a driver lacking proper insurance. It will pay for medical expenses and lost wages that you and your passenger(s) suffer. Keep in mind that there are no requirements regarding damage to property an uninsured driver causes.

Car Insurance Limits in Nebraska

Coverage limits refer to the maximum amount of money your insurer will payout in the event of a claim. It also is known as the state-mandated minimum amount of insurance every driver must carry. In the state of Nebraska, the state coverage limits for liability insurance are expressed as 25/50/25. Each of these numbers represents a different aspect of liability coverage. Those categories and what they cover are explored below.

  • Bodily injury per person refers to the maximum amount of money your insurer will pay for a single person’s injuries in an accident you caused.
  • Bodily injury per accident is how much your insurance company will pay for all injuries you cause in an accident.
  • Property damage per accident refers to the amount your insurance company will cover for the property you damage in an accident.

Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage operates the same way for bodily injury but covers injuries you sustain when the other driver’s liability insurance cannot cover your medical bills or if they lack insurance in general. You would file such claims with your insurance company under uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.

Is Nebraska’s Mandatory Insurance Minimums Enough Coverage?

Nebraska has pretty average mandatory car insurance minimums when compared to other states, but average does not mean it is good. Carrying only what is required can leave your finances at risk. It is highly recommended that your insurance coverage limits and consider policy add-ons when you go to buy car insurance. Doing so can help you be better prepared if you end up in an accident. It also will offer protection for you and your assets.

Driving Without Insurance in Nebraska

Failure to provide proof of insurance in the state of Nebraska comes with some unfortunate consequences. Listed below is what you could be facing should you choose to drive without insurance in Nebraska.

  • Licenses suspension
  • Maintain an SR22 certificate for 3 years
  • Reinstatement fee

Additional Types of Car Insurance in Nebraska

The state of Nebraska requires all drivers to carry liability insurance and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, but these do not have to be the only types of car insurance you purchase. There are a variety of policy add-ons available to strengthen your protection:

  • Collision: This coverage pays for any damages to your vehicle that are a result of you getting into an accident with another car.
  • Comprehensive: Comprehensive coverage pays for any damages your vehicle sustains when it is not in use. Some perils covered under this policy include theft and extreme weather.
  • Gap Coverage: This coverage pays the difference between what you own on your auto loan and your vehicle’s actual cash value. This can come in handy if your car is totaled and you still have a significant about on your loan to pay back.
  • Medical Payments: This type of insurance helps pay for medical expenses you and your passenger(s) accumulate following an accident.
  • Roadside Assistance: Various insurers offer roadside assistance to help you when your car has mechanical issues while you are on the road.

Car Insurance is Important For Any Nebraska Driver

Carrying car insurance not only helps you stay within the law in Nebraska, but it also helps to protect you and your assets. Accidents can get very costly, very fast. Medical expenses alone can exhaust a lot of your liability insurance. It is risky to go about driving without having any sort of coverage. For this reason, it would be wise to not only get a car insurance policy but also expand coverage to make sure all areas you need to be covered are. While you cannot predict accidents, you can try to prepare for them.

*This product may not be available in every state, please call an agent for more information.

Call Us Today! 888-949-NAVY