Montana Minimum Car Insurance Requirements
As is the case with most states, Montana requires all drivers to carry liability insurance. Failure to do so can result in you facing some pretty hefty penalties. The mandatory minimum liability insurance for the state of Montana is as follows:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person
- $50,000 bodily injury per accident
- $20,000 property damage per accident
Keep in mind that if you are leasing your vehicle or have an auto loan, your leasing company or lender may require you to carry additional car insurance.
Montana Liability Coverage
Liability insurance is the only type of car insurance required in the state of Montana. It pays for injuries and damage that you cause to another driver if you are found to be responsible for an accident. Keep in mind that liability insurance will never cover your expenses. It is reserved for any driver you hurt in an accident you caused.
Car Insurance Limits in Montana
Limits are the maximum amount of money your insurance company will pay out in a filed claim. These also refer to the state-mandated minimums every driver much carry. In the state of Montana, those limits are 25/50/25. Liability insurance is usually presented as three numbers because each one focuses on a different aspect of coverage. What those categories exactly cover is explored below.
- Bodily injury per person is the maximum amount of money your insurer will pay for one person’s injuries you caused in an accident.
- Bodily injury per accident is how much your insurer will pay for all injuries you cause in an accident.
- Property damage per accident is the amount your insurance company will pay for the property you damage in an accident.
Is Montana’s Mandatory Insurance Minimums Enough Coverage?
The mandatory liability insurance minimums for Montana are pretty average when compared to other states. However, average does not equal good. It is highly recommended that you increase coverage limits and consider policy add-ons when shopping for car insurance. If you put all hope in the required minimum amount, you could be leaving your finances in a vulnerable position. For example, if the other driver’s car ends up totaled in an accident you caused, $20,000 may not fully cover the cost of a new vehicle. Anything that is left over will end up coming back to you. Keep this in mind while shopping for car insurance.
Driving Without Insurance in Montana
Choosing to drive without insurance in the state of Montana can come with some pretty harsh consequences. The chart below outlines what you could be facing should you choose to drive without proof of insurance in Montana.