ClickCease
Nearest Office:

Missouri Car Insurance Requirements

Missouri Minimum Car Insurance Requirements

The state of Missouri requires its drivers to carry two types of car insurance: liability insurance and uninsured motorist coverage. Failure to carry at least the mandatory minimums comes with some hefty penalties. Those state-mandated minimums are as follows:

Liability Insurance

  • $25,000 for bodily injury per person
  • $50,000 for bodily injury per accident
  • $25,000 for property damage per accident

Uninsured Motorist Coverage

  • $25,000 for bodily injury per person
  • $50,000 for bodily injury per accident

Missouri Liability Insurance

Liability coverage pays for damages and injuries someone sustains in an accident you are found to be responsible for. This type of insurance only pays for the other driver. It will never cover any injuries you have or auto repairs your vehicle ends up needing. Liability insurance is comprised of bodily injury and property damage coverage.

Missouri Uninsured Motorist Coverage

Despite car insurance being mandated by Missouri state law, some people choose to drive without it. It can be stressful if you end up in an accident with one. For this reason, Missouri requires you to carry uninsured motorist coverage. Uninsured motorist coverage will pay for your medical expenses when the other party lacks insurance.

Car Insurance Limits in Missouri

Limits are the minimum amount of insurance you must carry in order to drive. These are typically imposed by the state. From an insurance company’s perspective, coverage limits are the maximum amount they will pay out in a claim. In Missouri, if you carry the mandatory minimum liability insurance, your coverage would be expressed as 25/50/25. Each number on the policy refers to a different aspect of liability insurance: bodily injury per person, bodily injury per accident, and property damage, respectively. What each category covers is explored below.

  • Bodily injury per person is the maximum amount of money your insurer will pay out for one person’s injuries in an accident you caused.
  • Bodily injury per accident is how much your insurance company will pay for all injuries you cause in an accident.
  • Property damage per accident is the amount your insurance company will cover for damages you are responsible for in an accident.

Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage operates the same way but only has a focus on bodily injuries.

Is Missouri’s Mandatory Insurance Minimums Enough Coverage?

Missouri has some fairly decent mandatory liability insurance minimums, but it can still leave your assets vulnerable. Just because an amount is mandatory by the state does not make it adequate. For example, $25,000 for property damage may not fully cover a new vehicle should you total someone else’s, and anything that is leftover can come back to you to pay out-of-pocket. This is why it is highly recommended that when going to purchase car insurance, you increase coverage limits and consider policy add-ons.

Driving Without Proof of Insurance in Missouri

Failure to provide proof of insurance in the state of Missouri comes with some unfortunate consequences. Listed below is what you could be facing should you choose to drive without insurance in Missouri.

  • Fines of up to $500
  • Reinstatement fees
  • 4 points added to your driving record
  • Potential jail time of up to 15 days
  • License suspension

Additional Types of Insurance in Missouri

While Missouri does require you to carry both liability insurance and uninsured motorist insurance, there is still a variety of ways to expand your car insurance coverage. Listed below are some common policy add-ons to strengthen your insurance plan.

  • Comprehensive: This covers any damage your car sustains when it is not in use. Some incidents included in this policy are theft and extreme weather.;
  • Collision: If you find yourself in an accident with another car, collision coverage will pay for damages to your vehicle.
  • Medical Payments: Medical payments, sometimes referred to as “med pay,” covers medical expenses you and your passenger(s) accumulate following an accident.
  • Roadside Assistance: If your car breaks down on the highway, roadside assistance can lend a helping hand. While coverage may vary based on what insurance company you have a policy with, in general, it assists you with mechanical issues like a dead car battery.

Car Insurance is Important For Any Missouri Driver

While you can never predict a collision, you can try to prepare for it. By purchasing an adequate car insurance policy, you offer some protection for both you and your assets. Even if you think it’ll never happen to you, you will want to be safe instead of sorry. Taking time to figure out what kind of car insurance policy is best for you will be worth it. And always remember to try to purchase beyond the mandated insurance amounts. It is a good place to start, but one serious accident can leave your finances at risk.

*This product may not be available in every state, please call an agent for more information.

Call Us Today! 888-949-NAVY