Mississippi Minimum Car Insurance Requirements
Mississippi requires every driver to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance. This is not too uncommon for many states in America. The mandatory liability insurance minimums for the state of Mississippi are as follows:
- $25,000 for bodily injury per person
- $50,000 for bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 for property damage per accident
You must be prepared to provide proof of overage to law enforcement when asked. Failure to do so can result in you facing a variety of penalties. Also, keep in mind that if you finance or lease your vehicle, you may be required by your lender or leasing company to carry additional car insurance.
Mississippi Liability Car Insurance
The state of Mississippi only requires drivers to carry a mandatory minimum amount of liability insurance. Liability insurance will cover damages and injuries you cause to another driver when you are found to be at fault for an accident. In Mississippi, the minimum liability insurance policy is expressed as 25/50/25 which each number representing a different aspect of what liability insurance covers. Those aspects are explored in the next section. It is also important to remember that liability insurance will never cover you. It only applies to drivers you injure and property you damage.
Car Insurance Limits in Mississippi
A car insurance limit refers to the maximum amount of money your insurance company will pay out in a claim. It also refers to the minimum amount of insurance you must carry in order to be a legal driver. For the state of Mississippi, those limits are 25/50/25. As was touched on above, each number correlates to a specific aspect of liability insurance: bodily injury per person, bodily injury per accident, and property damage, respectively. What each of these covers is explored below:
- Bodily injury per person is the maximum amount your insurer will pay for one person’s injuries in an accident you caused.
- Bodily injury per accident is the amount your insurance company will pay for all injuries you caused in an accident.
- Property damage per accident is how much your insurance company will cover for damage you caused in an accident.
Is Mississippi’s Mandatory Car Insurance Minimums Enough Coverage?
Compared to other states, Mississippi has a pretty low required amount for liability insurance. Depending on the severity of an accident, you can easily exceed the mandated limits. For this reason, it is highly recommended that you increase coverage limits and consider policy add-ons. Just because there is a state-mandated insurance amount does not mean it is adequate. It is just meant to offer you and other drivers something. Accidents can get very costly and easily exhaust insurance limits. Remember that anything that is not covered by your insurance can come back to you to pick up out-of-pocket.
Driving Without Car Insurance in Mississippi
Failure to provide proof of insurance in the state of Mississippi can have some serious consequences. Listed below is what you could be facing if you choose to drive without insurance in Mississippi.
- A fine of $500
- License suspension for 1 year or until proof of insurance presented
- Maintain an SR-22 for 3 years
- Reinstatement fees
Additional Types of Car Insurance in Mississippi
Liability insurance may not be very adequate in covering all aspects of an accident. For this reason, it can be helpful to utilize policy add-ons. Listed below are some common types of car insurance you can add to your plan in order to strengthen coverage.
- Collision: This covers damages to your car when you are in an accident with another driver.
- Comprehensive: This offers protection against non-collision-related damages your car may sustain. Some incidents this policy covers include theft and extreme weather.
- Gap Coverage: If your car is totaled before you can pay off your auto loan, gap coverage can help cover the difference between your vehicle’s actual cash value and the remaining amount on your loan.
- Medical Payments: Medical payments, also known as “med pay,” can help cover medical expenses you and your passenger(s) accumulate as a result of an accident. It pays out no matter who was at fault for the accident.
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage: Not all drivers choose to carry car insurance despite it being law. For this reason, uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage can help pay for medical expenses and auto repairs when the other person’s insurance cannot.
- Roadside Assistance: If your car breaks down while you’re driving, roadside assistance can help repair it. While the full extent of coverage can vary from company to company, in general, it will assist with your mechanical issues like a dead car battery.
Car Insurance is Important For Any Mississippi Driver
Not only is carrying car insurance mandatory by law in Mississippi, but it can also seriously help you protect yourself and your assets. It is always recommended that you go beyond the state-mandated liability insurance minimums in order to assure you are protected. Driving without it puts you and other drivers at risk. Not to mention that accidents can be very costly. You do not want to put your finances in such an iffy position. Take time to sit down and figure out the car insurance policy right for you.
Insurance Navy offers cheap car insurance policies with a variety of add-ons to give you the best coverage possible. Speak with an agent today at 888-949-6289 for a free quote. We also offer quotes online and in person at all of our storefront locations.
*This product may not be available in every state, please call an agent for more information.