Maine Minimum Car Insurance Requirements
Much like other states, Maine requires drivers to carry a certain amount of auto insurance in order to drive legally. There are three different types of insurance the state of Maine mandated drivers carry a certain amount of liability insurance, uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, and medical payments. The mandatory minimum of coverage drivers must carry of each is explained below.
- $50,000 bodily injury per person
- $100,000 bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 property damage per accident
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
- $50,000 per person
- $100,000 per accident
- $2,000 per person
Proof of coverage must be carried at all times in Maine. You should be prepared to present it if asked to by law enforcement. It is also worth noting that if you finance or lease your vehicle, your lender or leasing company may require you to carry additional insurance.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage in Maine
If you end up in an accident with a driver who either has no insurance coverage or lacks the proper amount, uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage will come in to pay for injuries you and your passenger(s) have. But keep in mind that Maine only requires you to carry this coverage for bodily injuries. Any damage to your property will have to be covered by policy add-ons.
Medical Payments in Maine
Sometimes referred to as “med pay,” medical payments coverage helps pay for medical bills you and your passenger(s) accumulate following an accident. It will also cover funeral expenses and pays out no matter who was found to be at fault. Remember, this insurance only applies to you and anyone else in your vehicle.
Maine Liability Car Insurance Coverage
Liability insurance covers the bodily injury and property damage you cause in an accident. It will also payout for pain and suffering, lost wages, and funeral expenses for those you harm. This coverage will never pay for any injuries you sustain or property of yours that ends up damaged. It is strictly reserved to aid the other party when you are responsible for a car accident. The coverage limits are usually expressed on policies with three numbers. For the state of Maine, they are 50/100/25.
Car Insurance Limits in Maine
Limits are the maximum amount your insurance company will pay out after an accident claim is made. Typically, you set your own limits, but most states also mandate a minimum amount every driver must carry. In the state of Maine, the state-mandated is 50/100/25. Each of the numbers represents a different part of liability insurance. The categories and what they cover are explored below.
- Bodily injury per person is the maximum amount your insurer will pay for injuries to one person in an accident you caused.
- Bodily injury per accident is the amount your insurance company will pay for injuries to all persons in an accident you are responsible for.
- Property damage per accident is the maximum amount of money your insurer will pay out for damage you caused in an accident.
Also, keep in mind that there are two other types of insurance Maine requires drivers to carry. Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage and medical payments come with their own mandatory minimums imposed by Maine that you must have in order to legally drive.
Is Maine’s Mandatory Car Insurance Minimums Enough Coverage?
Compared to other states, Maine has a fairly impressive mandatory minimum liability insurance. Not to mention the other two types of insurance required to drive in the state. However, it still lacks requirements when it comes to protecting your property. You will want to utilize policy add-ons, many of which will be explained in a later section, to further protect yourself in an accident. It wouldn’t hurt either to increase your liability coverage limits. While $100,000 in medical expenses for all injuries is appealing, the property damage insurance limits are less. As a general rule of thumb, you should never strictly carry what your state mandates. Even if it seems like enough, it can put your finances at risk.
Driving Without Proof of Car Insurance in Maine
Failure to provide proof of insurance in the state of Maine can result in some serious consequences. Listed below is what you could be facing if you decide to drive without car insurance in Maine.
- Fines anywhere from $100-$500
- Maintain an SR-22 certificate for three years
- Reinstatement fees
- Suspension of driving privileges
- Imprisonment (depending on the circumstances of your case)
Additional Types of Car Insurance in Maine
While the state of Maine requires liability insurance, uninsured motorist coverage, and medical payment in order to drive legally, there are a number of policy add-ons you should consider to strengthen your insurance. Outlined below are some common types of car insurance that can help to improve your policy.
- Comprehensive: This insurance covers your car after it sustains damage when not in use, such as through theft or the occurrence of extreme weather.
- Collision: Collision coverage helps to cover the costs to repair your vehicle after an accident with another driver. It pays out no matter who was at fault.
- Gap Coverage: If you have an unpaid auto loan and your car ends up totaled, gap coverage will cover the difference between the actual cash value of your vehicle and what is remaining on your loan.
- Rental Car Reimbursement: If your car is stuck in the shop for an extended period of time following an accident, rental car reimbursement will cover the costs of renting a vehicle while you wait for yours to be fixed.
- Roadside Assistance: If your car breaks down on the highway, this coverage can help with a variety of repairs, such as a dead battery and flat tires. The full extent of services offered is based on what insurance company you have your policy under.
Car Insurance is Important For Any Maine Driver
Carrying car insurance not only helps you comply with the law but also works to protect yourself and your assets. But you shouldn’t go with the default policy in order to just be within the law. It is highly recommended you increase insurance coverage limits and utilize any policy add-ons that make sense for you. Leaving your finances so vulnerable is never ideal. Where your insurance ends, you will be expected to pick up the rest. It would be wise to make sure you have adequate insurance before getting behind the wheel of a car.
Stop overpaying for car insurance and get a quote from Insurance Navy. Insurance Navy helps drivers secure the most cost-efficient auto insurance policies. Free quotes are available online or over the phone, 888-949-6289. Shop for cheap car insurance quotes today.
*This product may not be available in every state, please call an agent for more information.