ClickCease
Nearest Office:

Kansas Car Insurance Requirements

Kansas Minimum Car Insurance Requirements

The state of Kansas requires its drivers to carry a little bit more insurance than other states. In Kansas, to be a legal driver, you must carry liability insurance, personal injury protection (PIP), and uninsured/underinsured motorist protection. Much of this is due to the fact Kansas is a no-fault, meaning each driver is responsible for their own medical expenses in an accident. The mandatory minimum coverage limits for each type of required insurance are outlined below.

Liability Insurance

  • $25,000 bodily injury per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury per accident
  • $25,000 property damage per accident

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

  • $4,500 medical expenses per person
  • $4,500 rehab expenses per person
  • $2,000 for funeral expenses per person
  • $900 per month income loss for 1 year
  • $25 per day at-home services

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

  • $25,000 bodily injury per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury per accident

Kansas Personal Injury Protection (PIP) Requirements

Being a no-fault state, Kansas requires that each driver pays up to their policy limit for their own medical bills, including ones accumulated by their passenger(s) after an accident. This is known as personal injury protection (PIP) coverage. It takes care of medical costs no matter who was at fault for an accident. There is potential for you to still receive a payout should expenses be too great for your insurance to cover fully.

Kansas Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage Requirements

Despite car insurance being required by law in many states, millions of drivers choose to drive without any coverage. Due to this, the state of Kansas has made carrying uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage mandatory. This coverage only applied to bodily injuries. Any property you have damaged by an uninsured driver will have to be covered another way.

Kansas Liability Coverage

Liability insurance is one of the required insurances for all drivers in the state of Kansas. Liability coverage will pay for injuries and damages to the other driver when you were responsible for an accident. Liability insurance will never pay for damages you or your property sustain in an accident. You must carry your own policy in order to protect yourself. That is where something like PIP coverage can come in.

Diminished Value Policy in Kansas

Kansas is one of 15 states that is a diminished value state. Being a diminished value state means that drivers have the chance to recover diminished value from the at-fault driver’s insurance company if they experience losses when selling their vehicle. Even if your car has been completely repaired, just from being in an accident, its overall value takes a hit. If you see the effects of this when selling your car, you could file a diminished value claim with the other party’s insurer.

In the state of Kansas, there are a set of requirements you must meet in order to file such a claim:

  • You were not at fault for the accident.
  • You can provide substantial documentation, including photos, records of repairs, and proof of your vehicle’s value.
  • It has not been more than 2 years since the accident
  • Kansas does not have uninsured motorist coverage for such claims

Car Insurance Limits in Kansas

Coverage limits refer to the minimum amount of insurance required by states. In Kansas, the liability coverage limits are expressed as 25/50/25. From an insurance company’s perspective, this is known as the maximum amount they will payout for a claim should you carry such a policy. Each of the three numbers represents a different aspect of liability insurance. What each category is and what it covers are outlined below.

  • Bodily injury per person refers to the maximum amount of money your insurer will pay for one person’s injuries in an accident you caused.
  • Bodily injury per accident is the amount of money your insurance company will pay for all injuries you are responsible for.
  • Property damage per accident is the total amount your insurer will pay for damage you cause to another driver in an accident.

It is also worth remembering that Kansas mandated uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage and PIP coverage. Those are expressed with their own minimum limits every driver must at least carry. You can always beyond the mandated coverage limits for better protection as a driver.

Is Kansas’s Mandatory Insurance Minimums Enough Coverage?

No. As previously mentioned, you are able to go beyond the minimum coverage limits, and it is highly recommended you do so. Carrying only what is mandated can leave you at risk financially. Whatever your insurance will not cover can come back to you, and you very well may be stuck paying out of pocket. For this reason and many others, you should increase your insurance limits and consider policy add-ons. You are going to want you and your assets protected after an accident.

Driving Without Insurance in Kansas

Failure to carry car insurance in the state of Kansas can result in some pretty hefty penalties. The chart below outlines what you could be facing should you choose to drive without the proper insurance in the state of Kansas.

Consequences
1st Offense
2nd Offense
3rd Offense
Fines
$300-$1,000
$800-$2,500
$800-$2,500
License Suspension
Until proof of insurance provided
Until proof of insurance provided
3 years
Jail Times
Up to 6 months
Up to 1 year
1-2 years

On top of all the outlined penalties, you could also be facing numerous reinstatement fees. An SR22 will also need to be filed and maintained for three years.

Additional Types of Car Insurance in Kansas

While Kansas does require a number of types of insurances to be carried to drive in the state, there are still various ways you can strengthen your policy further. Listed below are some common car insurance policy add-ons to get even more coverage.

  • Collision: This coverage protects your car against any damage it sustains during an accident with another car.
  • Comprehensive: This covers damages your car sustains when it is not in use. Some perils featured under this policy include theft and extreme weather.
  • Gap Coverage: If your car is totaled before you can pay off your auto loan, gap coverage will cover the difference between your vehicle's actual cash value and the amount remaining on your loan.
  • Rental Car Reimbursement: If your car is out of commission following an accident, this coverage can help pay for the costs of renting a vehicle until yours is back up and running.
  • Roadside Assistance: If your car is experiencing mechanical issues while you are driving, roadside assistance can offer a lending hand. While the full scale of coverage varies from company to company, roadside assistance will generally cover repairs such as dead batteries or flat tires.

Car Insurance is Important For Any Kansas Driver

While you cannot predict accidents, you can do your best to prepare for one, and doing so means getting a strong auto insurance policy. It would never be wise to only carry what the state of Kansas mandates for drivers. You will always want to increase coverage limits and utilize policy add-ons. Taking these steps to be a smarter and safer driver can help you a lot after an accident. You never want to put yourself or your assets at risk.

*This product may not be available in every state, please call an agent for more information.

Call Us Today! 888-949-NAVY